Droid rooting error

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by estafusisx, Nov 13, 2010.

  1. estafusisx
    Offline

    estafusisx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I used to be rooted (universal androot the day b4 the 2.2 update) but I restored back to stock and without thinking about it updated to frg22d so my previous method is now impossible. And after trying to root using the method described in a post on this site (in think it was called "root your droid regardless of OS") but when I start to install the update.zip it says it comes up with an error saying something about not being able to access some file. Sorry if this is too vague I'll try again later for the specifics if no1 has a solution (bye in tried twice so it wasn't a fluke)

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  2. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. estafusisx
    Offline

    estafusisx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is exactly right thank you for finding it for me and in checked the faq and the error message in got wasn't listed

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  4. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    What is the error? We need specifics.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. estafusisx
    Offline

    estafusisx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ill try again later tonight but I can't right now. I gotta say that I love this site lol fastest responses ever!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  6. estafusisx
    Offline

    estafusisx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does universal androot cause any problems with rooting after u unroot? Or is there anything else I could have done that would cause an error? Oh yea also I tried to install the update.zip by choosing it off the sd card and it says something about not being able to mount the sd card. I'll give both errors later tonight

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  7. estafusisx
    Offline

    estafusisx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when i try to install the update.zip:
    -- Install from sdcard...
    Finding update package...
    E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcb1k0p1 (or /dev/block/mmcb1k0)
    (no suck file or directory)
    E:Cant mount SDCARD:update.zip
    Instalation aborted.

    When i try to choose ROM from SD card
    E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 (or /dev/block/mmcblk0)
    (no suck file or directory)
    E:Can't mount /sdcard

    i tried going to go to the mount options to mount the sdcard but it doesn't change anything
  8. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    When you renamed the file to "update" did you also type the .zip extension? Most computer systems now automatically adds the .zip extension so what your phone sees is "update.zip.zip" Try naming the file "update" only do not type the extension. Then try to install.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  9. estafusisx
    Offline

    estafusisx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did it first without the .zip (bcuz thats how it would work on mine) but then in tried with it and it was update. Zip. Zip (SwiftKey doesn't like not having spaces after a period lol)

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Did you Reseat the sdcard?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  11. estafusisx
    Offline

    estafusisx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I assume u mean pulled it out and back in? And no I didn't

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  12. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Yes, that is what I mean.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  13. estafusisx
    Offline

    estafusisx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll give this thread another week b4 i try z4root. I really didn't want to put the fate of my droid in an app again lol

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  14. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Did you do this yet?

    If this is not the fix, then it is just your phone that is unhappy. I was a part of the thread from the beginning, and from what I remember, it has something to do with the sdcard. If reseating the card doesn't do anything I believe backing up everything on your card (coping to your PC) and wiping the card (format) then putting everything back and retrying will work.

    That failing, you may need a new SDcard.
  15. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Then don't. Try what guidot suggested, twice. Failing that, you can install the rooting binaries, etc. manually. I have a guide at my site.

    good luck
  16. estafusisx
    Offline

    estafusisx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright thanks for your help ill try tonight

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page
/dev/block/mmcb1k0
,

android error 110

,
cant mount error when rooting s3
,

mmcb1k0