Droid ROOT Status...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Salamandar, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. Salamandar

    Salamandar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Greetings all, Sal from XDA, now that we have root on the CDMA Hero... welp ya I just had to bite the bullet and buy a Droid. I found this forum and decided it needed a DROID ROOT STATUS thread, so wala!

    BTW the Droid rocks, looking forward to root!

    Again this is intended as a gathering place for constructive experimentation on potential root techniques, any approach is welcome. You never know what random thought will give us access! 8)

    NOW ROOT AWAY!!!!!!!! 8P
     
  2. cellulararrest

    cellulararrest Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. limaxray

    limaxray New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    We've been working on an exploit that might allow us to inject code into a running root process. What we need is ARM shellcode to execute /system/bin/sh. Any chance you or someone on XDA would be willing to share the shellcode used for their HTC exploits? This exploit may not even work, but it's at least worth the try before completely writing it off.

    Head over to the link that cellulararrest provided for more info.
     
  4. mitchell

    mitchell Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Middle Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    You guys should all join the Droid Hackers Social Group. We are all working individually on our own Droid hacks, but it would be really cool to get some more members to where we can actually collaborate on projects.
     
  5. AcidBurn

    AcidBurn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mansfield,Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0

    I second that..
     
  6. limaxray

    limaxray New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    joined.

    (I hate minimum character limits)
     
  7. Kymz Dazzlin DrOiD

    Kymz Dazzlin DrOiD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Laveen, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Root

    Hi I am Brand New To DrOiD and what is this Root - mean?

     
  8. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
  9. evenmoreconfused

    evenmoreconfused New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've rooted my 2.1 Eris with the eris rooter app. I have superuser permissions now, but when I open it, it's empty. and in the terminal emulator I downloaded by Jack P. the $ does not turn into a # and it says permission denied, which I've read means that I'm not rooted. What should I do? I downloaded the root, and I flashed the image it says too. What else do I do?
     
  10. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    WOW dude, did you need a shovel to dig this thread up? Cross posting doesnt help your cause, especially seeing how you posted here, and http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/67398-jcases-1-click-droid-eris-root-app.html ...42 minutes apart.
    BTW, I answered your question over there.
     
Search tags for this page
arm assembly android bionic shellcode
,

rooting verizon droid