Droid Root helper Install /Busybox Probs

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by maverick45, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. maverick45

    maverick45 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've rooted my phone, successfully run DMUpdater upgrade all is working well! When I tried to use MM it says to have busybox installed first or it won't work right. Downloaded BB tried to install wouldn't do it. I then downloaded DroidRootHelper OTA as a .zip file direct to my phone but can't figure out how to get Astro to install it on my phone. I also tried Unix commands to install busybox and evidently that didn't work because when I opened MetaMorph it gave me the same message "no files".:mad::mad: I'm sure I'm missing just one or two important steps to get this done. Can someone pulease.....help me out.
    Thanks
     
  2. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,339
    Likes Received:
    1,678
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,821
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Ok dmupdater should have put busybox on your phone. Look in system/bin and see if busybox is there, if not look in system/xbin. If its in one of those places we can get it working for ya.
     
  3. maverick45

    maverick45 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok... I typed "su" then "cd system/xbin" now I'm at the {root@droid} xbin #
     
  4. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Su
    Mount -o remount,rw -o yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    Chmod 755 /system/bin/busybox.
    Or
    Chmod 755 /system/xbin/busybox
     
  5. maverick45

    maverick45 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I entered the commands just as you suggested. It accepted both commands without an error. Meta Morph still show the same thing "no files" When I start it.
     
  6. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,339
    Likes Received:
    1,678
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,821
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Use astro to see if its in system/bin or system/xbin and use these commands depending on which.
     
  7. maverick45

    maverick45 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just downloaded Astro a couple of days ago and haven't really had a chance to get familiar with it. How do I do that??
     
  8. maverick45

    maverick45 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just used search
    astro and it came back with about6 entries: /sdcard/downloads/Tools/busybox,/sdcard/downloads/Tools/busybox.sh /sdcard/downloads/Tools/busybox, /sdcard/nandroid/UltimateDroid_8.1.1update/system/xbin/busybox, /sdcard/Tools/busybox , /sdcard/Tools/busybox.sh ,/sdcard/busybox
     
  9. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,339
    Likes Received:
    1,678
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,821
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Open it up and will say /sdcard at top,hit up(folder with up arrow), should just say /. Find system, hit it, find bin, hit it, see if busybox is listed. If not hit back button and find xbin, hit it and see if busybox is listed.
     
  10. maverick45

    maverick45 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    /xbin has a busybox in it.
     
  11. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,339
    Likes Received:
    1,678
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,821
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Looks like busybox is everywhere except where you need it. Try unrooting with dmupdater then rooting again. Then check.
     
  12. maverick45

    maverick45 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I unrooted and re-rooted using Dupdater. Everything went well. Phone is working perfectly, except the MM. Still doesn't have any themes showing up. However I ran Astro and there is an /xbin directory with BB in it. I looked at the subfolder/file/app whatever iti s properties and it isn't empty,it has data in it unlike the other one. What do you suggest next an install command??
    Thanks for all your patience and assistance!
    Mav
     
Search tags for this page
busy box wont install
,
busybox installer doesn't work
,

busybox won't install android

,

droid root helper

,
droid root helper.zip
,
droidroothelper
,
install busybox to/system/xbin/busybox
,
root busybox
,
rooted bionic busy box
,
why wont busybox install