Droid ROM for Droid 2

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by bhempel, Apr 10, 2011.

1. bhempel

bhempel New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I have the Droid 2. I would like to use Liquid Gingerbread ROM which is for the Droid. Can I still use this ROM for the Droid 2?

2. mrpotatohead99

mrpotatohead99 Member

Ratings:
    +0
    No, unfortunately you cannot use that ROM on the D2 because the 2 phones have completely different hardware and as such the individual ROMs have to be customized to work on that specific set of hardware. Installing an incompatible ROM on a device could even brick the device. Make sure you are always installing a ROM that support the device you are installing to and/or was installing a ROM that was made for that device.

3. natecorbitt

natecorbitt New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to rooting, but I was looking at installing the new Cyanogen 7 mod. I have a Droid 2, but on the Cyanogen page, it only lists the Droid. Can I assume that mod will not work on my phone then?

4. mrpotatohead99

mrpotatohead99 Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Correct. The Droid "version" (per se) of CM7 will not work on the Droid 2. Though I do own a Droid 2 myself (you can see I haven't updated my signature haha) and I believe that CM7 is available for the Droid 2 as well. I am not absolutely positive but see here for the link I am referring to. Can someone confirm this for me? Basically, do NOT take my word for it and do NOT install because this may be for the HTC Liberty (a completely different phone). I am not sure.

5. nerdslogic

nerdslogic Silver Member

Ratings:
    +1
    No LGB or CM7 for the Droid 2....bummer I know.