[TOOLS] Droid RAZR Utility 1.8

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by mattlgroff, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. GoDux

    GoDux New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, my bad on this one . I misunderstood the direction I was given when using the utility. The phone won't even turn on at this point, not even to the dual core screen. I'll continue to sesrch for solutions before biying the bullet and getting a new device.
     
  2. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,870
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +677
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    If you do some searching there are some threads on how you can get your phone to take a charge, or you can buy one of those special charging cables. I can't think of what they call it right now, someone will hopefully know but that will make your phone get a charge so you can try and flash a new OS.

    I would not give up just yet, might be able to get you fixed up still.
     
  3. GoDux

    GoDux New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The phone was fully charged when i began the process. It did take about an hour to finish though. Could it be another issue keeping it from booting possibly?
     
  4. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    I have 1.6 ... and option 1 is "restore Droid Razr to Gingerbread 6.12.181"
     
  5. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,870
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +677
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    No this happens quite often when you get to flashing and can't get your phone into a working state. It is unable to take a charge which is why they always say have your battery at least 80% charged, which I am sure you did. Yet you have been working on it for awhile and probably drained the battery quite a bit.
     
  6. Xfactorx316

    Xfactorx316 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Ratings:
    +29
    This worked perfectly. 0 issues. Thank you Matt!
     
  7. jstwinkles

    jstwinkles New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, I apparently made a similar mistake as GoDux, and tried to use this utility to upgrade to ICS from GB. Does anyone know if my phone is bricked for good? In the process of mucking everything up, I also ran option 6 with the utility. Going to try using version 1.6 of the utility. Hopefully, that does the trick.
     
  8. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,870
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +677
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    I wouldn't. That made his phone worse. I would beg for the assistance of Mattlgroff over at Droidrzr.com. If you don't have the same errors he GoDux has now you might be in better shape.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX.
     
  9. jstwinkles

    jstwinkles New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah, okay. Right now, it just gets to the Droid Dual Core screen, then goes black. I don't have any trouble getting into recovery or fastboot flash mode. I made a titanium backup of the phone on my sd card, but recovery isn't showing stuff on the sd card, only the stuff on the internal storage. If I could somehow move that over, I think I could fix it. Any idea how I could do that with the phone in its current state?

    Aside from getting this thing fixed, how should I have gone about trying to manually update? The OTA update never came through, and when I tried to trigger it manually through the settings screen, it gave me a message about needing a Verizon Service account, or something like that. However, when I would try to proceed with setting that up, it just sits there for a while, then says it's taking longer than expected, and stops. It was rooted btw.

    Thanks for anything in advance!
     
  10. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,870
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +677
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    You could have downloaded the update.zip and put it on your Ext SD card and used the 1.7 utility to get you to ICS.

    Now however I am not sure which route to take, it is pretty obvious the 1.6 utility didn't work for GoDex.

    So there is a chance the 1.7 utility to fix a stuck ICS install "MIGHT" work for you. Again though you would need the update on your ext sd card and a working knowledge of that utility. Might still be best to see help or wait for more opinions. I would make sure you don't run your battery down in doing all of this, might power it off and leave it plugged into the wall charger for awhile.
     
  11. jstwinkles

    jstwinkles New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Downloading the fastboot files for an OTA update now. Going to try and flash it via RSD Lite.
     
  12. Kyle06

    Kyle06 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    So quick question if I wanted to downgrade from .215 would I just have to run option 6?

    Thank you learning slowly but surely
    getting more daring everyday :p
     
Search tags for this page
1.8 utility
,
1.8 utility thread
,
droidrazrutility
,

droid razr utility

,
droid razr utility ics
,
droid razr utility xt910
,
matt groffs razr utility
,
mattlgroff
,
razr utility
,
razr utility xt910