[TOOLS] Droid RAZR Utility 1.8

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by mattlgroff, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,243
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,004
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    I think it is the USB cable and not the phone. It could be the USB port also. Can you try another port or another PC? I am guessing you do not have the stock Motorola cable that came with the phone. And it definitely appears to be that the PC is not recognizing the phone.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  2. NetNathan

    NetNathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doubt seriously if it is PC....Started on 1 laptop (Company Laptop) and now on another laptop (Home laptop).
    Same issue on both pcs trying all USB ports.. using the Green stripe "DATA" cable the phone is not recognized as a USB device... only charges. However, with the off-brand "Motorola DATA Cable" purchased online it is recognized by USB.
    ..
     
    #194 NetNathan, Aug 19, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2012
  3. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,243
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,004
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    I would return the ones that aren't recognized if you can. If there is one that is recognized, then go with that one. My guess is that the problem is some data cables are better than others for data transfer and what you could be running into is the one that is recognized may be good enough for small amounts of data transfer but not for continuous feed of larger amounts of data. If there was any way that you might know someone with a razr or even a rezound, you would be better to use their stock USB cables.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  4. NetNathan

    NetNathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    And on it goes..

    Went back to Verizon. Proved to them that the "Green Stripe" "DATA cable" they sell is no good.
    They could not believe on even their pc the "Green Stripe" cable was not recognized by USB.
    They went in the back and brought a new razor and pulled the true cable with "V-Cast Media Manager" tag and warranty tag, and it worked.
    They gave me the cable no charge. So no I am off o home knowing my problems would now be solved.
    .
    .
    No such luck..

    Here are results.
    View attachment 54834


    I am really interested in failures (shown in picture) to copy certain files. Showing Permission "Denied" or "Read-Only File System". WHY??

    SuperUser does not got installed, BusyBox does not get installed, and "CHMOD" directory does not get installed (which is probably the root files).
    This is why root does not happen because these files and folders are not in location.

    I even tried installing Voodoo from Utility. It worked and I had the buttons.....but only box checked was "/system supports root protection".
    Tried "Protect Root" but it failed on "no su copy available" (box not checked either).
    Then Play wanted to update it and after update buttons disappeared again.... What??

    As a test I tried Titanium backup but it said phone not rooted.
     
    #196 NetNathan, Aug 19, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2012
  5. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,243
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,004
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Wow, wow, wow! Very frustrating. Okay, here its my next idea. Which ever utility you are using... scratch that and download and extract the other one. Try that one, see if it works.

    Nice that you did get a stock USB cable. Now to just get the utility to work.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  6. NetNathan

    NetNathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Should I see if I can build the folders that are failing on my internal storage or is it built on the SD card?
    If someone can tell me the Folder/File structure, I can build the folders and copy the files to the correct directories and run it to see if that solves the issues.
    I opened the "C:\DroidRAZRUtility/DroidRAZRUtility.bat" batch file and can see it is looking for a "/system" folder that does not exist. I assume it is built and the necessary files are copied to it from the Utility. However, I cannot tell if it is created on the SD card or internal drive.

    Oh yea.... before anyone thinks to ask.....
    I have 7 GB free of internal storage 12GB free on the SD card.
    I have completely opened security permissions and sharing to "Everyone" on the C:\DroidRAZRUtility folder. Just in case the problem is related to permission on my PC (Win 7 PRO 32bit).

    I have both downloads extracted and they are both the same size.
    2.58 GB
    33 files, 2 folders
    So I doubt that is it.
     
    #198 NetNathan, Aug 19, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2012
  7. NetNathan

    NetNathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I finally resorted to sending an email to Matt to see if he can see the problem....
    I figured I had experienced enough issues to ask him.
    I don't THINK I have made any stupidly simple mistakes.
     
  8. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,243
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,004
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    I agree, it is not because you made any mistakes or overlooked anything. While you are waiting to hear back from Matt, see if this thread has a solution to this problem: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=567955

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  9. NetNathan

    NetNathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wen to the link and installed updated the Android SDK and added any required items (except Google USB drivers) to the current version but no difference in results.

    Mat is having me try some things.
    The problem IS with the adb server.
    I will let you know when I resolve it or how it ends up.
     
  10. NetNathan

    NetNathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    EUREKA!!!!!!

    Wait a minute while I stop dancing..
    .
    .
    .
    .
    Okay..

    Matt told me it was a pc issue so I told him I would wait till I got to work and try it on my work laptop.
    The I remembered the cardinal rule read, read and read again..
    SO I went back to the link you sent and read more.
    In one post the guy stated he had removed "Droid Explorer" and solved issues with adb server out of date.
    Hmmmm...I remembered seeing "DroidExplorerServer" running as a service in task manager.
    Bingo! I had installed it a long time ago when I had my Droid1.

    I un-inistalled it and....look at these clean results compared to the others
    View attachment 54847

    Voodoo had all the boxes checked and now let me "Protect Root".

    I am SO happy this is a now resolved.

    It is a lesson to all and 1 to remember about "Droid Explorer".

    Thanks a hundred billion times for that link. You rock!
    Sleep well.
     
    #202 NetNathan, Aug 19, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2012
  11. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,243
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,004
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Wow, hallelujah! Man, I could have tried for days and never ever would have come up with that. Droid Explorer? Wow, how in the world did someone ever figure that one out? Thank goodness they did. All I can say is wow! What a VICTORY!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  12. NetNathan

    NetNathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    No kidding....BIG Victory
    That is one to remember about Droid Explorer causing issues with rooting.
    It may have just been an outdated copy that needed updating.
     
Search tags for this page
1.8 utility
,
1.8 utility thread
,
droidrazrutility
,

droid razr utility

,
droid razr utility ics
,
droid razr utility xt910
,
matt groffs razr utility
,
mattlgroff
,
razr utility
,
razr utility xt910