Droid RAZR Overclocking?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by skatingrocker17, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. skatingrocker17
    Offline

    skatingrocker17 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I just bought a Droid RAZR on eBay and I was wondering if it can be overclocked with an app like SetCPU?

    Thanks
  2. akiles
    Offline

    akiles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    I do not believe so. The current kernel only supports the following frequencies: 300, 600, 800, 1000 and 1200.
    It will be very difficult to oc with a locked kernel. However, since there is safe-strap I believe it may be possible to have a different kernel on safe mode -not sure, check with a developer.
  3. skatingrocker17
    Offline

    skatingrocker17 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanks for the info.
  4. Rampant
    Offline

    Rampant New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does this mean you can underclock for better battery life?
  5. Oaklands
    Offline

    Oaklands New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes you can.
  6. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Not possible to overclock/undervolt a stock kernel with Motorola. You need an app like Android Overclock which I don't believe is compatible with the RAZR. Moto devices with locked bootloaders overclock/undervolt via scripts and not kernel changes.
  7. Rampant
    Offline

    Rampant New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so.. how do I underclock the Razr? which app should I get?? is there a way of variable underclocking so while it is dormant it runs really slow clock and then ramps up on wake?
  8. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Android naturally underclocks when dormant. Full processor speeds are achieved under task heavy use like HD games or multi-tasking. There is no app (that I'm aware of) that works on the RAZR to overclock or undervolt.
  9. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,054
    Likes Received:
    692
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    ......the RAZR does in fact scale down clock speed while dormant
  10. _base2
    Offline

    _base2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The razr CAN be overclocked, just not yet. They're still working over @ xda on loading the kernel module that allows OC without interfering with the kernel itself. It's been done for the Bionic but not yet finished for the razr afaik

    [ sent from _base2 ]
  11. jtpowell
    Offline

    jtpowell Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincninnati, OH
    Is this just a because you can? Really it's a dual core phone. The only thing I could see benefiting from overclocking is WebTop. Underclocking probably isn't necessary either.
  12. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Undervolting can increase battery life. Stock voltage speeds ate quite high. Overclocking just makes things run smoother. Why not do it?
  13. jtpowell
    Offline

    jtpowell Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincninnati, OH
    What isn't running smooth that can run smoother? It's like the person who can only type 20wpm wanting a faster word processor.
  14. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    No, typing is dependent on skill. Increasing the processor speed makes screen transitions faster/smoother, scrolling through the app drawer faster/smoother and games run better as well.
  15. codyweis
    Offline

    codyweis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Overclocking so you can us the nds4droid:) idk how though:(
  16. _base2
    Offline

    _base2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To the credit of droidxer... oc-ing does make things smoother if you can find an "optimum" speed and voltage. My D1's optimum was 1.1 ghz on raidzero's LV kernel... ran like a champ. If I went lower voltage (without decrease in clock speed) or higher clock speed (without increase in voltage) it would not run as smoothly.

    If I had to guess, the optimum clock speed of the RAZR is somewhere between 1.4 and 1.6. Just a guess but just judging from experience w ti-omap chipsets.

    And the Razr does have some VERY cpu-intensive transitions and lockscreen. Not often, but every now and then i could use a little additional headroom. But don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining. This phone is fast as crap especially compared to my d1 lol

    I gave my bro my d1 and got him setup on cm and got it running crazy smooth. Crazy fast transitions and awesome battery life (25+ hours... so jealous) but it can't touch the RAZR when it comes to sheer power (gpu and io)

    [ sent from _base2 ]
  17. sameolzac
    Offline

    sameolzac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I rooted my razr today, and I might be wrong because I'm new at all this,
    but before I had to restore my phone I had to restore my phone because of fonts that I changed,
    I had the app Rom toolkit and there's two sliders to make a minimum and a maximum speed,
    I didn't have the money for the set CPU app, I think the speed went up to 1200,
    I was surprised by the smoothness of the games and transitions, I have alot to learndancedroid
  18. ex0rcist
    Offline

    ex0rcist New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Xda? Forget them. Rootzwiki baby. Overclocking WITH voltage control. Bionics.. thrills and rzrs and atrixses laying down sgs 2 shattering benchmarks. I got 1.375 ghz. Laid down 7400 cfbench. Check it out moto lovers! taka is the man too, very helpful.. he helped alot on milestone oc modules. And he is also a rzr owner. But helped me alot with my bionic. Looks like top score thus far is a bionic at 1700mhz .. but it has stability issues.. linpacks suffer. But he laid down SERIOUSE #s in cfbench and antutu.. can anyone say hello asus Prime #s?
Search tags for this page
can droid razr be overclocked
,

droid razr overclock

,

droid razr overclock kernel

,

how to overclock droid razr

,
how to overclock razr using setcpu
,
motorola razr d1 overclock
,
motorola razr i overclock
,

motorola razr overclock

,
motorola razr overclocking
,
oc razr
,

overclock droid razr

,

overclock razr

,
overclock razr d1
,

overclocking droid razr

,
razr d1 overclock