Droid Razr Maxx Wifi Tether - Not working

Spectortime

Reaction score
First of all, I'm brand new to this stuff so if I make a junior mistake, please don't bash. I rooted my razr maxx a while back, and I just recently tried using wifi tether apps. I used them on my Droid X2 with no issues. But now it seems none of them will even start. Barnacle gives me this: DHCP: Failed to parse 'numbers and letters' for brncl_dhcp_dns2
Then: Could not set MTU of rmneto: Invalid argument

Foxfi, Just doesn't work and it tells me to use the bluetooth version(No errors given).

I've used Pdanet via usb tethering with no problem, but I can't get the wifi tethers to work which is actually what I need. If anyone could help me out, I would appreciate it. Darn these confusing phones :icon_ devil:

94lt1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo 2
First of all, I'm brand new to this stuff so if I make a junior mistake, please don't bash. I rooted my razr maxx a while back, and I just recently tried using wifi tether apps. I used them on my Droid X2 with no issues. But now it seems none of them will even start. Barnacle gives me this: DHCP: Failed to parse 'numbers and letters' for brncl_dhcp_dns2
Then: Could not set MTU of rmneto: Invalid argument

Foxfi, Just doesn't work and it tells me to use the bluetooth version(No errors given).

I've used Pdanet via usb tethering with no problem, but I can't get the wifi tethers to work which is actually what I need. If anyone could help me out, I would appreciate it. Darn these confusing phones :icon_ devil:

Hello and welcome to the droid forums.. I'm not certain about the hack for wifi tether.. but as far as foxfi.. just go into manage apps, downloaded, foxfi, clear cache, clear data, and force close it...

Then reboot your phone, and then try it again.. make sure your wifi isn't turned on when you try to initiate foxfi, or else it won't work... it'll turn wifi on itself once it starts.

OP
S