1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Droid Razr Maxx - ICS - Stock Camera App doesn't Initialize

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by popo127, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. popo127
    Offline

    popo127 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just as the title states; I can't access my camera.

    Notes:

    Soft reset (battery pull) and hard reset (Factory reset) did not fix this.

    I downloaded another Camera app and it says "Can't Connect to Camera"

    Any ideas?

    Thanks for your help.
  2. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Is it possible that you disabled your camera? Check settings, Apps, scroll along the top bar to choose "All"... find the camera app (if it is disabled, it will be listed towards the bottom), open camera. If it shows "Enable" then it is disabled. Click on enable to get it working again.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Droid Forums
  3. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    You could also try to restart your phone to see if they will get it going.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Droid Forums
  4. popo127
    Offline

    popo127 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Restarting (many times) has not helped. Also the camera app is enabled (note that within settings after I open the camera non of the objects are clickable).
  5. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    It sounds like when you installed ICS that it did not complete initiating all the apps. Usually when that happens, a restart will initiate the apps that didn't on install. The only suggestion I can think of is to do a fdr. I am guessing you are not rooted. If so then it could involve something different.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Droid Forums
  6. popo127
    Offline

    popo127 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hat is an fdr? If the app failed to correctly update why cant i run other camera apps? And no, the phone is notbrootrd. Thank you for your help
  7. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    I am sure an fdr will solve your problem. It seems to be the one sure thing that has solved almost all ICS problems.

    It must be that the other camera apps don't work because they rely on the stock camera app to do some of their functions... although I am just guessing but seems to make the most sense.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Droid Forums
  8. popo127
    Offline

    popo127 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What is an fdr?
  9. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Oh sorry. Easy way to say factory data reset (or restore). It wipes your phone and returns it to stock, like out of the box.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Droid Forums
  10. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    I notice your original post said you did a factory reset but you may actually have to do another one. For some reason it seems as though things did not load or initiate properly.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Droid Forums
  11. popo127
    Offline

    popo127 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ive done two. I guess a third wont hurt
  12. popo127
    Offline

    popo127 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Didnt work
  13. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Whoa! It sounds like a software problem by maybe it is related to a hardware problem. You may have to get a replacement phone (certified like new replacement clnr) under warranty. Call verizon. Explain the measures you have taken so far. They will probably ask you to do an fdr but let them know you have already done that twice. After they have exhausted ideas to fix the problem (usually that is once they suggest the fdr), they will order a replacement to be sent.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Droid Forums
  14. chinbongthai
    Offline

    chinbongthai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Popo - I'm in a similar boat, post upgrade to ICS whenever I try and use my camera the phone locks up, says camera not responding, I tell it to close, phone reboots, gets stuck at small droid logo rom/bios screen. Tonight it took about 8 hard resets just to get phone working again. I am thinking I should have removed any third party camera apps prior to upgrade. Hopefully, update fixes, or it's a factory reset for me, then upgrade, good times. I really dug this phone until I was getting the update shoved down my throat.
  15. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,258
    Likes Received:
    585
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Sometimes on the fdr, doing 2 in a row will settle things down. First try going into manage apps, camera, clear data and force close it.
  16. AngryHatter
    Offline

    AngryHatter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My camera will frequently not work, same symptoms. But a reboot clears it.
    And this is an X2.
  17. sunjbr
    Offline

    sunjbr New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know this is old but wondering if you found a resolution. I have done 3 FDR and still doesnt work. I know its not a hardware issue because I can access the hardware by using the face Unlock under the screen lock options.
Search tags for this page
apps not responding on droid razr maxx
,
camera not working on razr maxx
,
can't find my camera on droid razr
,
droid maxx camera error
,
droid razr maxx camera doesn't work
,
droid razr maxx camera not opening
,

droid razr maxx camera not working

,
droid razr maxx cannot connect to camera
,
how to enable camera on droid razr
,
my camera wont work on my droid razor max
,

razr maxx camera issues

,

razr maxx camera not working

,
razr maxx camera problems
,
razr maxx camera stopped working
,
why is my camera not working on my droid razr maxx