Droid Razr Maxx 3g/4g DISCONNECTS

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by matrinox104, May 21, 2012.

  1. matrinox104

    matrinox104 New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The problem is with the MAXX, this new phone has a difference with "detecting" a signal, and "communicating" the signal.
    I have learned that if it detects a signal, the signal bars will be white. Once it establishes a signal, it will be blue.

    Immediately after I get disconnected the bars are white.

    Is it my phone disconnecting itself from the data, canceling it to save power? (which I think it is)

    My case is a little different. ANY HELP you can provide me would be greatly appreciated.

    Here is a link to a similar problem which I think is soo00ooOoo00 close to mine. http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-bionic-tech-support/205220-3g-4g-disconnect.html

    I cannot find the same options on my phone however.
    Do I need to root the phone to access this?


    I have 11 days left to decide if I wanna keep the phone.

    Please and thank you.
     
  2. rck76

    rck76 Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Moved to droid razr support. I got your pm and replied, hopefully FoxKat or another member will be able to help you as I don't have a razr.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  3. matrinox104

    matrinox104 New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Droid Razr Maxx. There are no "performance options" or sync options. I have talked to VW serveral times over the phone about this. Yes, the battery is managed they say. No, I can't get to it.

    Should I root my phone to get to it? Will rooting the phone even give me the options?

    I have tried every trick in the book I can think of.
    New sim card, change all the settings in wifi, data roaming enabled, wifi sleep disabled, factory reset, safe mode, level 2 tech support several times, etc, little tinkering but to no avail, etc.

    I have just now installed a wifi high performance widget. Doesn't seem to help. Are there any apps out there to keep my phone's data from turning off? I also lose calls, incredibly frustrating, because I have 4 or 5 bars, but they are "white" bars.

    p.s. when the bars are blue I can receive/send data no problem. white bars is a disconnect. always. my signal strength doesn't change when this happens. I have a ~74-~81dmbs signal strength.

    thanks guys for looking over this, I appreciate it.
     
  4. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,870
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +677
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Seems you have tried all the possible fixes for the problem. I would say there might be a smart action set up, but a factory reset would clear that out. New SIM card would have been another thing to try, but again you have done that. Could be that you just got a bad phone, maybe the radio on it is no good.

    If you have data saver off, no smart actions, then you should not have anything from the phone interfering with your signal. Have you tried using the CDMA only mode to see if you could at least get and hold a 3G signal? What about WIFI?
     
  5. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,808
    Likes Received:
    4,748
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,287
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    The performance options you mention are not in the RAZR's version of the OS, but are in earlier versions and since some phones are on those earlier versions they still have that screen. For you, the Data Saver screen only allows you to turn it on or off, and if on it queues downloads, uploading of photos and videos, Podcast Auto-Downloads and Album art and thumbnails, emails over 750KB, and App downloads until you are on a WIFI network. This can be a 100% disruption for folks who don't have WIFI available to them on a frequent basis. It will certainly preserve battery power but at the expense of being completely disconnected from the data stream for most transfers.

    To see that screen, tap <Menu>, <Settings>, <Data manager>, <Data Saver>, and then you'll see a check box at the top and 5 choices below with (i)nformation buttons to the right. You can only turn them all on or all off, not selectively turn some on and others off. Within Data manager you also have the option to set Social networking to Sync over Wi-Fi only as well, and a myriad of settings for Email and corporate sync. Finally, there are selections in that menu for Data enabled (over Mobile network), which should be checked, Global data roaming access (which shouldn't be turned on unless you are traveling abroad and need access to data at a premium), and Background data, which I keep on, but some choose to turn off and will extend the battery but you'll have reduced access to timely data since it will disrupt data transfer while the phone is in the resting state.

    As for the bar colors, white identifies it as having Cellular communications and blue identifies it as being connected to the Google servers. If you are losing data connection as frequently as you indicate, there has to be a reason. It can be software conflicts, hardware issues with the phone, tower issues in your area, or something but my MAXX is rock solid as was my RAZR. Losing calls is also a non-issue for me and there is RARELY a complaint of this type on our forums for the RAZR or the MAXX. I can't remember the last time I dropped a call, it has to be months, and it wasn't even on my end. If you have gone through all the troubleshooting you mention above and you're still having these issues, I would take the phone in if you are within your 14 day hassle-free replacement period and demand a new one. The RAZR and the RAZR MAXX are two of the best performing phones out there, consistently rated the highest for call quality, are very stable and for most are completely trouble-free.

    I wish you luck. :biggrin:

    Finally, I am not totally sure what your
     
  6. matrinox104

    matrinox104 New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks foxkat for all your pointers. I was quite dissapointed to scroll through all of
    them , check my phone and find out i already have ALL of those options checked.

    Heres some background, I use this phone for hotspots and tethering. If i am playing a game that requires more data, the phone will enter its famour white bar mode. Incrediaby unsatisfying.


    I have tried both 4glte & CDMA, and CDMA ONLY.

    Im about to exchange this phone for a bionic.

    Some please stop me... please help!!!
     
    #6 matrinox104, May 21, 2012
    Last edited: May 21, 2012
  7. huskur

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    I am in the same boat. With stunningly similar issues. I to am looking at making the switch to the Bionic due to the radio differences. The Bionic is stellar when it finds signal and locks on. My wife has a bionic so I can do real world comparisons. We can go to the mall and as soon as we get inside I am back and forth between 3/4G (mostly 3G) and her Bionic is never loses it at all. Also, when leaving a 4G area my maxx drops quick and when going back into a 4G area the Bionic picks it up way sooner. Very strange. It's not a SIM card or device issue. It's truly a radio issue. For me with my email and work and netflix and such I would rather have a little less phone and a solid 4G signal. I have to say, the Bionic size feels smaller in your hands to though it is a little thicker yet the screen size is the same.

    I have a decision to make also.....
     
  8. justin82

    justin82 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,693
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +216
    its threads like these that make me wonder should i not get the bionic instead of the maxx.. i want the best reception phone . and i dont know what that is :(
     
  9. huskur

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    I can pretty much promise you that is the Bionic in that aspect.

    I have friends with Razrs/Maxxs and they all perform like mine to the T. I have done all the necessary homework. 3 SIMS and a entirely different Maxx and no difference.

    A factory reset on my maxx. So it was pretty much new.....side by side with the Bionic the Bionic beats it ALWAYS with 4G connection and speeds. Side by side speed tests next to each other on a table and the Bionic is faster 9 out of 10 times.
     
  10. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,808
    Likes Received:
    4,748
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,287
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    I'm sorry to hear all of you here are having connection issues. I can assure you all that the SIM is not the cause. The SIM is nothing more than a flash RAM/ROM card that contains the authorization information tied to your wireless account. It either works or doesn't. If your phone can make a call, the SIM is working, even if DATA isn't.

    I am also disappointed that you all are suffering similarly. The problems you are having are by no means widespread. There have been data outages on Verizon but they are almost definitely not the issue here as Verizon seems to have the problems of data outages under control now. What's really frustrating for me is that my phone (MAXX) and my wifes (RAZR), are both solid performers and we have no data issues. I can also say the largest percentage by far of RAZR and MAXX users are now (post data issues from Verizon and recent radio updates) quite happy with their phones. I also don't know where each of you are located to know if it's an area-specific issue or not.

    I suggest you each go to 4G LTE Network | Verizon Wireless and enter in your physical home address, then view the map both in the zoomed in mode and also zoomed backed out one or two clicks to see just how the coverage is for your immediate areas.

    If you are in the light red area ([​IMG]Verizon 3G), you have ONLY 3G, and you should turn off 4G (CDMA Only), at least while in that geographical area. This is CERTAINLY not the phone's issue, but simply a limitation of the network in your area.


    If you are in the dark red area ([​IMG]Verizon 4G LTE *), you should be able to retain 4G consistently, but if you are on the fringe of any of those coverage areas you will again suffer the same toggling and data drops when switching from 3G to 4G & back again. If you are on the fringe, this isn't the phone's fault, but simply a limitation of the network in your area.


    (* Access the 4G LTE network within the Coverage Area.)

    If you are in the medium red area ([​IMG] Verizon 4G LTE Extended**), you MAY have 4G, but it's depending on your altitude in relation to the towers since the signal you are getting is coming from distant towers with beam antennas pointed in your direction that tend to "ride higher" in the atmosphere when compared to the standard 4G coverage towers. Again, not the phone, but the network.

    This can result in what seems like spotty coverage due to toggling between 3G & 4G and will also result in overall greater consumption of battery power. Again for those problems, switching to 3G only (CDMA Only) is the only viable solution. My home was in this situation until recently, but since I have a wireless router, I would just run on WIFI only while at home. In my opinion, this is simply an issue of your own physical geographical area, the topographical terrain in and around your home, and not the "fault" of Verizon per se'. They ARE sending signal "toward" your home, though it may be traveling OVER your home as it was mine until a few weeks ago. I used to get no 4G in the house, but 4G was strong while standing on my roof! :blink:


    (** Access the 4G LTE network within the Verizon Extended Coverage Area; certain conditions may cause your service to connect to 3G in this Area.)


    If you are in the yellow area ([​IMG]Extended 4G LTE ***) you are not in Verizon's 4G LTE area, but instead on a 4G LTE tower run by another carrier and this can also result in spotty or toggling coverage. In other words, this isn't either Verizon's fault or the phone's.


    (*** Access the 4G LTE network within the Extended Coverage Area; Some of the Coverage Areas include networks run by other carriers, the coverage depicted is based on their information and public sources, and we cannot ensure its accuracy.)
     
    #10 FoxKat, May 21, 2012
    Last edited: May 21, 2012
  11. justin82

    justin82 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,693
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +216
    thanks for the website i am in the extended 4g area . very spotty but my tbolt will pick it up sometime.. i think i will lean toward bionic at this point // its cheaper and hope that it will be even cheaper with memorial day sale ( i have to buy 2 phones) ..
     
  12. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,808
    Likes Received:
    4,748
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,287
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Justin82, for your situation (needing 2 phones), the cost is certainly an overriding factor. As a result, the Bionic is a good choice.

    If money were no object (yeah, like that's ever going to happen...:icon_eek:), I would say go for the RAZR/MAXX, and hope for an enhancement to coverage in your area. This was my situation and prior to a few weeks ago, I would lose 4G coverage as I started down the hill into my cul-de-sac. In my home, I had 3G solid but NEVER saw a 4G signal in the house or anywhere in the yard (though standing at the peak of my roof was 4G Heaven!). As I would listen to Motocast streaming my audio on 4G, when I'd make the turn into my street, in a few seconds the music would pause and then 3G would kick in and I'd have audio again. Now, the music continues uninterrupted all the way up my driveway and into the house!

    I still use WIFI in the house but see the 4G in white with white bars now consistently. The coverage map shows my street and at least one street farther over as now inside the 4G LTE Extended coverage, where before it just covered my street. Things will only improve as time goes on since Verizon is making a push toward 4G and even 4G VOIP.

    Anyway, if you do get the Bionics, don't forget us here in the Droid RAZR/MAXX forums, you're a welcome sight here and we'd sure miss you! :biggrin:
     
Search tags for this page
3g data goes off on sleep mode note 2
,
droid razr frequent disconnects verizon mid michigan
,
droid razr max not connecting to 3g or 4g network
,
droid razr maxx 3g issues
,
droid razr maxx drop call sim card
,
droid razr maxx no 3g or 4g
,
droid razr maxx no 4g or 3g
,
how to fix 4g on android
,
motorola droid maxx 3g internet problem
,

razr maxx 3g issues