Droid RAZR connectivity/service issue

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by icemanind, Aug 22, 2012.

  1. icemanind

    icemanind New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a problem that seems to be getting worst. My phone keeps losing service and data. It will stay connected for about 10 minutes, then it will lose service and not just 3G/4G connectivity, but phone service too. After about 5 minutes, it gets service back. It does not seem to do this if I'm on the phone or using the Internet. It only seems to do it when the phone is idle. I will literally get a red X through my signal meter. Verizon replaced my phone and that didn't solve the issue. They replaced my SIM card, which also did not help. I've wiped the phone several times and that didn't help. My phone is updated to the latest software version of ICS. Its got nothing to do with my cell tower. The same thing happens at work and I work a good 30 miles away in Phoenix. Has anyone experienced this or have any other solution I can try? It seems like everything on my phone has been swapped out so its really puzzling me. The most annoying thing about it is that it drains my battery. At full charge, my battery only lasts about 5 hours....and that's just being completely idle...not even using it.
     
  2. lloydstrans

    lloydstrans Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,062
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Ratings:
    +217
    If it is a new phone push red into a new one, that would be my plan.
     
  3. icemanind

    icemanind New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did. Verizon sent me a new phone, but I'm still having the same issue.
     
  4. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,686
    Likes Received:
    396
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +431
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Have you tried putting it on 3G only mode to see if that helps? You can download the Thunderbolt LTE On/Off APP from the Play Store and change it to CDMA auto (prl).

    Or you can dial *#*#4636#*#* from your dial pad on the phone, that will take you to a hidden menu. Choose Phone Information scroll down a little and you will see "Set Preferred Network Type, choose CDMA auto (prl).

    See if that helps.
     
  5. jaye712

    jaye712 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    I had this issue for a while..its actually still happens..one thing i didnt do yet was have em check the area..ehh,since swichin out my card n putin a new one in,service stays on so,so but still not as well but a lil better then befour..befour i swaped it out,my simcard didnt match my data plan(Verizon, thats real nice,,smh)..butt u can try this,i have this as a backup incase i dont feel like doin a fdr or somesort,if anyone does have an idea why this is happening,keep us posted..iam wondering the same thing..fyi i know 4g drains the battery,thats where i got s.a in play(thanks to the help frm Tis n 94)..anyway,this is in the p.s..helps for the time bein in my option..i think its a must have if anything..
    #"Restore connectivity settings"@p.s(free)
     
  6. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    14,874
    Likes Received:
    2,501
    Trophy Points:
    693
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +2,795
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    It could also be 211... I just pushed my wife's phone to 215.. it was on 211 and it was having drops.. terrible drops. Not any more though :)
     
  7. jaye712

    jaye712 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    True..i lost so much 4g connection@211(kept jumpin to 3g bck to bck),after i done 215,my 4g stays on all the time.losing my service is still a issue tho
     
  8. icemanind

    icemanind New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    I did try this actually. It still does it. Its so random.
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr hidden menu
,

droid razr keeps losing service

,
droid razr loses service
,
droid razr losing service
,
droid razr m no service
,
droid razr maxx hidden menu
,
droid razr service problems
,
my droid razr keeps losing service
,
why does my droid keep losing service
,

why does my droid razr keep losing service