Droid problems with default news and weather app

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by zappadragon, Jun 17, 2010.

  1. zappadragon

    zappadragon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK so now when I try the default app for news and weather it says sorry network error. Please try again later. But when I put it in the dock the weather comes up just fine. My droid is starting to drive me crazy.... Please help
     
  2. Jcshannon05

    Jcshannon05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine doesn't even work in the media dock. I actually used this widget alot. Kinda pisses me off tbh.
     
  3. zappadragon

    zappadragon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    I guess its a bigger issue http://www.droidforums.net/forum/bugless/52479-news-weather-widget-problem-server-issue.html
     
  4. jaed569

    jaed569 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you on Froyo? I've been having the same issue and wasn't able to resolve it.

    I downgraded to 2.1 and it works perfectly now.
     
  5. zappadragon

    zappadragon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure what Froyo is but I am at Firmware 2.1-update1 if that helps
     
  6. BigOldBear

    BigOldBear New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    York, PA USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dumped it

    Being that it could never - ever - work, after about two weeks, I dumped the icon and program. There are much better apps out there - THAT WORK.dancedroid
     
  7. owlclaw

    owlclaw New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    There was a problem w/ the source servers being attacked earlier this week. Looks like the problem is now resolved.
     
  8. chops

    chops Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    does anyone have a problem with the news widget never updating i have to click on it to update. i have the options to update every 3 hours
     
  9. jlaidlaw

    jlaidlaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I don't know if its fixed on froyo because I'm back on BB PV1.1. It does look like its at least connecting to the servers but mine doesn't update and I have to refresh whenever I want to see updated news.

    Sent from my Droid
     
  10. blastfemur

    blastfemur New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Downgrade?

    I'm curious how you 'downgrade'. I called Verizon and they were not helpful. The first was a reseller and wanted to know "What happened to my phone? Why is it so slow?" I told HIM what I discovered about the task managers and how the functionality had changed and was not killing all services associated with the process they were killing.
    Then I talked to a Verizon tech, HE sent me a link on how to "downgrade" via rooting my phone!?!? *SIGH*
    I supposed I'll just visit a store, but I'd love it if there were an easier, more convenient way.
    And yes - I found this posting trying to find out why, when docked or suspended, I kept getting 'News and Weather [process com.google.android.apps.genie.geniewidget] has stopped unexpectedly.' ... REPEATEDLY after I upgraded to 2.2.
    Overall - not in the least BIT impressed with this upgrade! It's horrid! Battery life is more than halved due to too many process, services running in the background that USED to be killed automatically by the 3rd party task managers.
    "Native Task Manager" ... ?
    BLAH!
    I think they shouldn't have pushed a beta version of the new OS onto us.

    *rant conclude* ...
    I just wanna know how to downgrade!!
     
Search tags for this page
application news and weather has stopped unexpectedly
,
application news and weather process com.google.android.apps
,
application news weather has stopped unexpectedly
,
com.google.android.apps.genie.geniewidget has stopped unexpe
,
process com google android apps genie geniewidget
,

process com.google.android.apps.genie.geniewidget has stoppe

,
process com.weather.weather
,
processcom.weather.weather
,

sorry network error please try later

,

the application news and weather has stopped unexpectedly