Droid Pro vs. Droid 2

OmahaEngineer

Reaction score
I ordered a Pro the morning of the 9th. I hope to get mine today (Fed-Ex delivers today, right?).
Question ...
Right after I placed my order, I noticed that the Droid 2 Global was available. Should I have purchased that? Yes, I travel international often. I'm a newbie to smartphones (although I used to have a Trio). I understand that the portrait keyboard of the Pro is best for one-handed texting, but wouldn't the large landscape screen of the Droid 2 be great for Internet browsing? Opinions please.

DF Smod

Silver Member
Reaction score
If I traveled International (which I don't get to do often enough) I would have definitely gone with the Droid 2 Global - the slide out keyboard is much bigger than that of the Pro as well as screen size -

hookbill

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Isn't the Droid Pro the Blackberry looking Android phone? I didn't like whichever one that was, I don't need a reminder about Blackberry.

guidot

Developer Relations
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
HB, you really hate bb huh?

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App

hookbill

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score

Not that I hate it, it's just that the technology is so far behind either a Droid or an iPhone. I suppose it might appeal to some people, it just doesn't float my boat.

jstafford1

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Twitter
jstaff79
If it were up to me....I would totally go with the D2 global. Bigger is better most times. I may be biased as I have a D1 and love it like a second child :)

morcguy

Reaction score
I just came over from a Blackberry 2 weeks ago. The D Pro looks interesting but the small screen was the deal breaker for me. I really liked the ergonomics of the BB keyboard but I am beginning to get comfortable with the touch screen on the X. Having owned and used an iPad and iPod Touch, I can say that the Android auto-complete and spellcheck are FAR superior to Apple's.