Droid overclocked to 600mhz!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by JhankG, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    I just saw that the droid has been overclocked to 600 mhz. With alldroid being down, I don't know where else to look to get the instructions. Does anyone here have a link with instructions and files?
  2. Wrenbjor
    Offline

    Wrenbjor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm looking for the same thing, Alldroid is back up but the article is "missing"
  3. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its just a kernel patch, put the boot.img in your sdcard
    you also need to put a text file in your sdcard also

    run from recovery mode and adb
    adb shell /system/xbin/flash_image boot /sdcard/boot.img

    make you sure mounted /system first.
    boot.img
    Code:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ylymiy0jyi1
    setcpu.txt
    Code:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ioigtv3dhmm
    wifi is currently not working at all.
  4. pinesal
    Offline

    pinesal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm waiting for one that does both tether wifi and 600mhz. Anyone know if it's available yet?
  5. Wrenbjor
    Offline

    Wrenbjor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if Wifi isn't working I'm not doing it... is there a way to remove the patch and go back?
  6. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no its not, sholes is working on it though.
  7. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    I was surprised not to find it on this forum since new hacks and information usually get pulled over here pretty quickly. I have been looking forward to overclocking this thing since I got it and now I can't find anything explaining how to do it!
  8. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do the exact steps i posted above, but with this boot-new.img instead

    Code:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?chjdymykdmq]boot-new.img
  9. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    read my above post, if people are having issues i'll make a more detailed tutorial, currently i'm just very tired, posted the extreme basics.
  10. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Sorry, I didn't see your post before I replied. If a version with working wifi is in the works, I may wait on it. If it doesn't come soon, ill go ahead and use this one. If anyone is overclocked, have you noticed any difference in performance?
  11. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    boot time has improved noticeably, pandora also seems to launch quicker. running benchmarks shows good improvement, but a lot of day to day tasks are similar to what they were.

    i've done very little actual testing to see if it runs much better, but yes, it does feel smoother...kinda.
  12. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Have you used it long enough to notice a difference in battery performence? I know its going to lower it but I'm curious to see how much.
  13. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you use setcpu's profiles, have sleep/standby set to max 500 min 125 to save battery, because most of the time my phone has been in sleep

    but i've used it probably a solid 2 hours, and in my pocket 5, went down to 70% battery. this includes a lot of pandora usage, as well as internet. obviously no Wifi, as that doesn't work. but the battery seems to hold up well!
  14. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Well I may not be able to wait for the wifi now. Thanks for all the great info!
  15. thistle
    Offline

    thistle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've definitely noticed an improvement in speed in several respects. There's no longer a significant stall in resizing the screen when switching from portrait to landscape. Camera Zoom FX, which was quite slow before, now loads very quickly. In general, opening and switching between apps is noticeably quicker.

    Battery seems to be fine if profiles or your min/max are set appropriately.
  16. swickdick
    Offline

    swickdick New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PSU Erie
    What's a good rule of thumb when it comes to setting the min in relation to the max?
  17. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not sure if there is one...setting the min to 125MHz has never caused a problem for me. Although setting the max to 250MHz while in sleep mode through the profiles causes lots of lag if you get a phone call.

    My profiles are
    Charging: 600 max 250 min
    Sleep: 500 max 125 min
    and then the regular mode i have 600 max 125 min
  18. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Do I need to put those 2 files in a certain folder on my SD card?
  19. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    boot.img should be in your sdcard root, and you no longer need the setcpu.txt file if you download the new setcpu.apk from the first post.
  20. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    I am in recovery mode, mounted /system, cd to tools, ran ./adb shell on my computer, and then tried to run /system/xbin/flash_image boot /sdcard/boot.img. When I do that, I am getting:

    # /system/xbin/flash_image boot /sdcard/boot.img
    /system/xbin/flash_image: not found

    Does this mean the file isn't in the right place?