Droid not recognized when plugged into laptop

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Atimus, May 28, 2010.

  1. Atimus

    Atimus New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whenever I plug my Moto Droid into my laptop, it doesn't show up in the "Hard Disk Drives". Yes, I hit "Mount" on my phone and the phone does charge, it just doesn't show up on my computer. So it's a ***** to transfer songs and pictures and stuff seeing as the Droid doesn't have a Micro SD port on the outside, whenever I want to transfer stuff I have to open the back, take out the battery, etc..

    So does anyone know why it's not showing up when I plug it in? Should I uninstall my drivers then reinstall them or something?

    Help is much appreciated.

    (I looked around a few pages before I posted this, didn't see anything.)
     
  2. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Double/triple check the drivers. As an absolute last resort, you can use Bluetooth File Transfer to get stuff onto your phone.
     
  3. Atimus

    Atimus New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    they're all updated. it showed up when i first got it, then a few weeks later it stopped showing up. idk why.
     
  4. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    XP? Vista? 7?

    Are you sure your SD card isnt corrupt?
     
  5. Atimus

    Atimus New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    the card is fine, like i said, i have to take the card out and put it into my micro adapter to transfer stuff. so it shouldn't be the card. and i'm using 7
     
  6. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    I swear on my friend's Incredible I saw mounting options... I dont know. Sorry.
     
  7. Atimus

    Atimus New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks anyways
     
  8. offroadace

    offroadace New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure about the Droid, but on the Inc, once connected open Menu - Notifications.
    This will list as Charge Only for the selected option.
    There are 3 other options to choose. Select the 3rd option, can't remember what it actually is, but it is for data transfer.

    Possibly there is a similar menu function on the Droid to set.

    ORA
     
  9. Atimus

    Atimus New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea, it's called "Mount" on the Droid. but even when i press that it still doesn't show up on my computer. it knows there an Android device connected but it doesn't show up in any place that i can access the storage on the phone, you know?
     
  10. jimnutt

    jimnutt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Morrisville, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have USB debugging enabled on the Droid? That can cause Windows 7 (at least) to stop seeing the mass storage.
     
  11. Atimus

    Atimus New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ah! that was it, i just turned off debugging and now it shows up again. thanks.
     
  12. dkfloyd

    dkfloyd Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same thing, but how do I know or turn off the debugging?
     
Search tags for this page
android not detected on laptop
,

android not recognized when plugged into computer

,
android usb device not recognized
,
droid phone pluged into usb but not showing up
,
moto g phone not being recognized when plugged into usb
,
moto x not recognized when pluged into computer
,
motorola droid 4 doesnt show up when plugged into computer
,
my droid razr m dosen't show up when i plug it into my coput
,
screenshot of verizon droid when you plug it into a laptop
,
why doesn't my android show up as a device when connected to