Droid newbie: What phone should a developer with minimal needs get?

Rei

Reaction score
A total droid newbie here. As in I've never even seen an android-based phone in person before. However, I am a web-application developer who needs to make sure her apps work well and look right on, among other things, android-based phones.

In general, I love Google products and the open design philosophy they espouse. Unfortunately, the cell phone world is a pain of locked phones and disabled features, and that seems to reach into the Droid realm as well. So I'm at a loss here. I was thinking that perhaps the people at this forum could help. I need:

* Basic featureset. The phone at a minimum needs to be able to support web browsing over wifi
* Fairly representative of the typical android product range most consumers will have
* Email support
* Minimal cost possible given the above

Here's what I would like:

* Not required to be locked into a given network
* Not required to have a data plan
* Able to make use of a minimal dataplan with low cost and minimal capabilities
* Still able to get higher data performance or more monthly data xfer if I later decide I want to pay for it.
* Able to have those capabilities in Iowa City, IA zip code 52240, and in Detroit, MI if possible

I've been told that Verizon has good coverage around here; I don't know about other providers. But when searched for "verizon droid unlocked", I found a lot of negative info about whether this was possible. Off the bat, all I'd want to pay for is enough data service to have access to email everywhere. Later, however, I might want more for actual data-intensive browsing.