Droid Memory

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by JohnnyRockets, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. JohnnyRockets

    JohnnyRockets New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone open a terminal real quick and type "free"?

    What is total, used, and free?

    Thank you
     
  2. MrGlass

    MrGlass New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll do it if you tell me how to open a terminal.

    *edit*
    I grabbed a terminal emulator and typed free, but the response was permission denied
     
    #2 MrGlass, Dec 7, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2009
  3. JohnnyRockets

    JohnnyRockets New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ohhh yeah, needs root. Forgot about that.

    Ok, what about running TasKiller (from Market) and killing all running applications. How much memory is left over? On my G1, the most I've ever had is 48, but usually around 36-42.
     
  4. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,723
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +83
    Get an app called "Read-System" with that you can see the meminfo.
     
  5. Mechcondrid

    Mechcondrid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    well on my setup (moto droid) i have at startup about 110 Mb of ram free then viz various mem leaks for some of my apps it rounds down to about 83-85 and levels out there
     
  6. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you aren't having performance issues with your Droid, I wouldn't worry about how much free memory you have free. The Android OS is built to pull more memory as needed.
     
  7. mammlouk

    mammlouk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My moto assuming no memory leaks is "Memory Used = Time Saved" since active swap/cache helps apps load and respond faster.