Droid Keyboard Multitouch

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Valkyrie67, Jan 10, 2010.

  1. Valkyrie67

    Valkyrie67 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have read on other threads about the lack of virtual keyboard multitouch for the Droid, but they were pretty old. Are there any simple keyboard hacks to enable multitouch on the default keyboard? Or any apps? Thanks.
     
  2. Valkyrie67

    Valkyrie67 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump. Anyone?
     
  3. Jeremy556

    Jeremy556 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    It does have multitouch - just not as good as some other implementations.

    For example, if you are holding down one key and press another, the droid will input the first key you were holding. Older touch screens would register a click half way between your fingers.

    I know there are keyboard replacement apps available, but I don't know if they actually work any better. The soft keyboard is good enough for what I use it for. If I have to do any real typing I use the physical keyboard.
     
  4. Valkyrie67

    Valkyrie67 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I mean like an iPhone keyboard. If you hit another letter while still holding the previous letter down, it will correctly input the second one. The droid still inputs the first letter you are holding down instead of the new letter you want imputed.
     
  5. hyzdufan

    hyzdufan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since nobody is actually answering your question, let me try. Right now, there are no multi touch keyboards for the Droid on the market. It is ridiculous and even with Swype, I still want a multi touch virtual keyboard. I don't even think I want to support Swype anymore since they don't seem on planning to make an official version available unless it came with your phone.
     
  7. vpshockwave

    vpshockwave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My thoughts exactly.

    Personally I hate swype. I just want a regular multi-touch keyboard that hits the second key even if I'm touching the first still. I don't understand why it hasn't been done yet.
     
  8. Valkyrie67

    Valkyrie67 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It does look pretty sweet. But I'd still like to have a multitouch supported keyboard if possible.
     
  9. Valkyrie67

    Valkyrie67 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you Jhank and vpshockwave. I'm on the same page.
     
  10. Valkyrie67

    Valkyrie67 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it at all possible to take a piece of the Milestone's code and put it on the droid for multitouch keyboard, without using the whole ROM?
     
  11. vpshockwave

    vpshockwave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's something I've wondered from day one.

    I know milestone has multitouch, but has anyone confirmed that it works the way we're talking about? Registering the second key even if the first is pressed.
     
  12. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0

    Well I know the multitouch browser from the Milestone was pulled and is available for the Droid, so I don't see why the keyboard can't too.
     
  13. Valkyrie67

    Valkyrie67 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have a link of how to get the milestone browser onto droid?
     
  14. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
  15. atlharry

    atlharry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Milestone doesn't have a multitouch keyboard either.
     
Search tags for this page

my droid incredible 2 when i type on the keyboard it types a

,

the keyboard on my droid only types q