Droid Incredible's service not so incredible

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by KrubKrum, May 1, 2010.

  1. KrubKrum
    Offline

    KrubKrum New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bought my Droid the other day and since then I have had almost no service everywhere I go.

    I took it to Verizon yesterday and the person tyed in some things but it didnt help.

    has anyone been having the same problems?

    Any way to fix it?
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Yes. They probably already did this but try updating your PRLS by typing in *228, option 2.
  3. samiusmc
    Offline

    samiusmc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Perhaps this OTA update is meant to fix that issue: HTC Incredible OTA Update Mysteriously Arrives! | Android Phone Fans
  4. CatsTide
    Offline

    CatsTide New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bama
    i did a side by side test moto vs htc...htc won..
  5. KrubKrum
    Offline

    KrubKrum New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ill try the update, but right now I still am getting mostly zero to one bar.
  6. manilaboy1vic
    Offline

    manilaboy1vic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    planet earth
    known bug.... bars arent really the truth.. look at sig strength

    look at sig strength in settings - about phone - network - i have one bar but im showing -79 dBm

    or are you just unable to make a call period?

    My bar is at one bar all the time but can still text and call like its not an issue.
  7. KrubKrum
    Offline

    KrubKrum New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It says that my system is currently up to date, but the software and build number are still saying what the "before" picture says.

    Know whats up?
  8. KrubKrum
    Offline

    KrubKrum New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It says:

    "Signal strenght: -88dBm"

    Is that good or bad..?

    And I can make calls, its just not very good reception/sound quality.
  9. manilaboy1vic
    Offline

    manilaboy1vic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    planet earth
  10. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Is it actually affecting calls? Are you dropping calls, calls fading in n out? If not it may just be a cosmetic issue.

    CatsTide, the side by side test, unless you were in the same store, city as the OP, it doesnt mean anything. For where ever the OP lives/works he needs to find a solution. Could be a faulty phone too.

    Krum, has any phones gave u problems before? And to be honest I wouldnt go by the decible thing either. Its a good judge of quality n all, but if u have a phone in hand and u drop calls and calls fade in n out, thats what matters, real world tests. But it could be a phone issue too. Try one in their store and see if the same thing happens.
    Last edited: May 1, 2010
  11. KrubKrum
    Offline

    KrubKrum New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for all your help today, to everyone.

    You guys are great with your understanding and answering my questions.

    Continue with what you do.
  12. KrubKrum
    Offline

    KrubKrum New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It hasn't dropped any calls yet, but it has gone in and out once or twice.

    Well this is my first droid, I had At&t and everything was good over there.

    I use for a little while longer to see if I like it or not.


    EDIT: I am going back to a verizon store in a few days so Ill check it out there, If it is fulty, Ill get it replaced, hopefully.
  13. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    I might be a carrier issue for your area too then. Just check everything out before u decide what to do.

    First Droid? Welcome aboard!! U wont be disappointed.
  14. KrubKrum
    Offline

    KrubKrum New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I was thinking that. I will be sure to do that.

    I already know I wont be.
    Thanks.

    :)
  15. HolyGrail
    Offline

    HolyGrail Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Incredible = 67dBm

    Moto = 77dBm

    So the Incredible is coming out on top for me.
  16. Frunkis
    Offline

    Frunkis New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For anyone with expertise in this area, can signal strength issues in a phone be caused by faulty software or bad code? It just seems that if this is indeed hardware related, that there may not be a fix for this model as opposed to something caused by software.
  17. nerdkill
    Offline

    nerdkill New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you know it's weird. i don't think it's an actual signal problem. i'll get all the way down to zero bars and still make phone calls crystal clear. i think the bars are not correctly corresponding to signal strength. i can't believe how much i love this phone. i love my droid, but (i don't want to say incredible anymore) this thing is amazing. i miss my root, but it's so good i'm not even that bummed.
  18. ColoMonster
    Offline

    ColoMonster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you know anything about service at all, i believe this screenshot i posted shows that i have -61 dBm which is stellar service, and i have only 3 bars, at one point it only had 2 bars. I imagine if i had -60dBm or less i would have 4 bars. this phone works, the bar is not the same as others... THERE ARE ONLY 4 to begin with
  19. jkhonea
    Offline

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    There is an error with the signal readings on the phone. If you would like, look up Real Signal in the Market. Free app in the Market that gives real readings on the radio status. I haven't seen it to hurt the battery, either.
Search tags for this page
can not get service on htc incredible s
,
droid incredible poor service
,
droid incredible service
,
droid incredible service bars
,
droid incredible service menu
,

droid incredible service problems

,
htc incredible no service
,
htc incredible s service problem
,
htc incredible serice problems
,
htc incredible service problems
,
incredible fix poor service problem
,
incredible service
,
my droid incredible 2 is going from having service to no ser
,
phone droid htc is out of service everywhere
,
why is service bad droid incredible