Droid Incredible WiFi Hot Spot?

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by Gordon54, Dec 5, 2010.

  1. Gordon54

    Gordon54 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cumming, Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Droid Incredible from Verizon and was wondering if there is any way I can make it a FREE hot spot for my Ipad. Verizon gets enough $$ for Data plan.

    Help
    Gordon dancedroid
     
  2. Twist747

    Twist747 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    PDANet works for me. It's bluetooth to my laptop. I assume it works for an Ipad.
     
  3. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Moved to correct sub-forum.
     
  4. Gordon54

    Gordon54 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cumming, Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    will this work with the IPAD so that i can get on internet with ipad?
     
  5. BlackHoleSlam

    BlackHoleSlam Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    toms river NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah use wireless tether n ur good

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. gsf

    gsf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use my Incredible as a hotspot for my iPad, but with WiFi available in many places i only need my hotspot periodically.
     
  7. dankarlinski

    dankarlinski Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    root using Z4root and dl wireless tether. Z4 may or may not be on the market still. it is pulled nad re added quite a bit. i have a copy if needed. wireless tether is on the market for free. you will just need to install SU for it to work (which is installed on custom roms if you are running one)
     
  8. coskier

    coskier Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can do this without a root. Found this on another board:

    We do not condone or allow discussions about hacking the official Verizon Hotspot on this board. Thank you.
    I have also done this, and it works fine.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 7, 2010
  9. chartle

    chartle Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Once you do this how do you connect, do you just turn hotspot on or do you do something else?

    Also what exactly are you doing? I have a work phone and I don't want my work to know I'm screwing around with my phone.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 7, 2010
  10. chartle

    chartle Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    For PDANet don't you have to run something on your PC to connect?

    If you do, I doubt there is a PDANet app in the itunes app store.

    Also I think an ipad can only connect to the internet over wi fi, no Ethernet cable, no usb.
     
  11. coskier

    coskier Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes

    Yes, you just turn on Hotspot. The first time it will still give you a warning about the data plan (or some such thing), but it does not enable the additional billing on your account, nor are you charged for anything new.

    Honestly, I do not know what is being changed from a VZW perspective. They are simple phone settings though, and your office won't know that you did anything, unlike a root that is fairly easy to see.
     
  12. Wannabe Jedi

    Wannabe Jedi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is the info I am seeking. I am about to get a droid (X) for both my girlfriend and myself. The ONLY reason I am considering rooting is to install wifi tether. However, I have seen that with Froyo, this root app functionality is available stock? But would using the stock mobile hotspot app trigger the extra $20 and 2GB cap charged by the phone nazis?

    Coskier, I couldn't find any link or anything in your post about what you found on another board. Seems like we are talking about the same thing.
     
  13. coskier

    coskier Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    PM me your email address and we can talk offline.
     
Search tags for this page
droid incredible free wifi hotspot
,
droid incredible hotspot
,
droid incredible wifi hot spot
,

droid incredible wifi hotspot

,
free wifi hotspot for htc incredible 2 verizon
,
htc incredible wifi hotspot
,
using a droid incredible as a wifi hotspot
,
wifi hotspot droid incredible
,
wifi hotspot for droid incredible
,
will droid incredible wifi work pdanet