DROID Incredible to Receive OTA Update Adding 720p and Mobile Hotspot

Discussion in 'Android News' started by Shadez, Jul 1, 2010.

  1. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,425
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +207
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    DROID Incredible to Receive OTA Update Adding 720p and Mobile Hotspot


    On 07.01.10, In News, by Kellex


    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Droid Incredible owners, prepare yourselves to become upgraded. According to our sources, an OTA update is readying for deployment to the DI which will add some much needed features that were missing during the device’s initial launch. Can you say 720p recording? Mobile hotspot feature? The Droid Red Eye boot animation it should have always had? Yep. All of that is on the way.


    The photo proof above is from a DI owner with a test model that has already received the update. He’s also provided video of the new boot animation…


    Like I said, his video and photos are 100% legit. While I wish I had a date for you, at this time I can only confirm that it is indeed real. Not a rumor people.


    And we’ll be digging for more info…

    Who’s switching their Droid X order back to the Incredible?

    droid-life.com
     
    #1 Shadez, Jul 1, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2010
  2. titans

    titans Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Incredible's a great phone but I'd rather have the Droid X's GPU.
     
  3. djrakun

    djrakun Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great. Can someone post the update.zip when they get it, and can someone rip out the hotspot app so we can get it in some droid roms (do not flame me about why I should just use wifi tether. I don't feel like explaining why ad-hoc doesn't work for me again)
     
  4. Blayzejlm

    Blayzejlm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mass
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would we be able to get the 720 ported (not sure if thats how it would go) to the regular droid?
     
  5. hydro556

    hydro556 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    That is amazing news. Will the 720P work on the camcorder as well?

    Forgive me if that is a stupid question, I just dont know.
     
  6. spartanstew

    spartanstew Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    as well as what? 720P is solely for the video recorder.
     
  7. enkryptik

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah droid only having ad-hoc is a shame but it works for me when I need it. Infrastructure tends to be a lot more compatible with certain devices though.
     
  8. hydro556

    hydro556 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3

    Resolution on the stills as well?
     
  9. mach330

    mach330 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    The OC
    Ratings:
    +46
    oh dayam..can't wait for this. so this will come before froyo?
     
  10. Guchi

    Guchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    would be sweet if this is froyo!!!
     
  11. Jamar

    Jamar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Silly question, but why does the DI in this video have the HTC logo above the screen and not Verizon's like mine?
     
  12. mth04

    mth04 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Most likely a test unit.......

    i knew about the upgrade coming..I also look for improved battery life and better reception with this update......I am reasonably sure this isn't Froyo but a scheduled patch...call it 2.1 update 2 ......