Droid gets a bit fiesty and hot on gpa14

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by doublea500, Apr 19, 2011.

1. doublea500

doublea500 New Member

Like I said my droid BATTERY is getting hot. I've been using gpa14 for 2 months (about) and I've never had this problem. The problem started when I arrived at florida(comming from new york). I'm pretty sure the problem has to do something with being at florida. Not from the warmer temp, but I think from longer distance for connection possibly. I'm not sure... it hovers around 95-104. I don't really like using it anywhere over 100. At ny, it usually stayed in the low 90s. I'm using the stock 600mhz kernel so that should lower the heat if anything. I'm going to try to take wifi off so it'll start searching for it, ill see if that works. Any suggestions?

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  2. DHO

DHO New Member

Sounds like your phone is asking for GPA 15

Are you in a rural area? Are you searching for 3G or signal?
  3. doublea500

doublea500 New Member

No, I am fine with 3g connection. Imma look into 15 and look at the changelog

4. doublea500

doublea500 New Member

is the problemm with the rom or kernel?
  5. GilmourD3

GilmourD3 New Member

One thing I learned from overclocking PCs and using crazy fans and heatsinks to cool them... Ambient temperature is going to affect your operating temperature. My PC runs warmer when the house temperature is warmer.

From what I've been seeing, temperatures are about 10-15 degrees hotter in Florida, so that makes sense to me.

However... Also... What's up with your NY temperature? I live in NJ, so we have similar weather. My phone right now is 77*F as per Battery Indicator Pro with the 1GHz low-voltage kernel under GPA14.
  6. doublea500

doublea500 New Member

Well I'm pretty sure the outside temp has nothing to do with droid temp. I switched to gpa15 and it didn't really fix the problem so I really think it has something to do with florida

7. doublea500

doublea500 New Member