DROID Doesn't... do IRC

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Se7enLC, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is anyone else irritated that Verizon blocks IRC traffic? It's not like I need to use IRC, I'm just bothered that I'm not allowed to.
  2. Sleeve
    Offline

    Sleeve New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All ports, or just the 666x's? It's been almost a decade since I've been on IRC. Does anything legal happen there any more? I should go collect a few trout slaps.
  3. LrdElderon
    Offline

    LrdElderon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have they ever stated a specfic reason as to why it's blocked? I didn't think just chatting in irc generated that much data traffic? though I suppose compared to text or instant messenger, there is more constant data traffic especially in large rooms with people constantly chattering.

    Or it could be they just want people to use text messaging so they make more money..... I dunno.

    Though at least from my personal experience the only two reasons I ever saw for irc in general were 1. developer chats about software and 2. pirated software (which could potentialy be another reason they block it?)

    yes I know there are other reasons people use it, but a large chunk that I've seen has been in pirating things, anime, music, software...etc

    Plus your post title kind of bugs me a bit lol. the droid DOES, but verizon doesn't.... that's a small but significant difference.
  4. JoeyNWZ
    Offline

    JoeyNWZ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    They block IRC ports because quite a bit of trojans were/are using those ports to communicate...

    That being said, SSL connections to IRC work fine, I use Android IRC and can connect to every IRC network via SSL fine.
  5. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, true - it's verizon and not the phone itself - but it was Verizon that has the "Droid Does" campaign and tried to change their image. Verizon was previously well-known as a company that crippled their phones and services, and this new leaf was supposed to be all about openness and freedom of use. Net Neutrality - So long as I'm not breaking their terms of service or any laws, they should not be discriminating against any type of traffic.

    As for the other question - as far as I know, they haven't oficially acknowledged the IRC blocking. But IRC works fine over WiFi and not at all over 3G, so that is a pretty large finger pointing.
  6. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On a PC, sure... but I've never heard of a botnet of cell phones. communicating via IRC.
  7. JGard
    Offline

    JGard New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wait what? I paid for an Android IRC app and it's been working great for me. No connection problems, nothing. It's a custom server but on port 6667. I'm also only on 3G, I leave wi-fi disabled on my phone at all times.
  8. JoeyNWZ
    Offline

    JoeyNWZ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Jgard, are you sure you are using WiFi? I have the same experience as Se7enLC, in regards to the standard IRC ports being blocked...

    But as I have already said, SSL connections work fine, so I dont have a problem... P2p-Net, EfNet, UnderNet, IRCNet, DALNet all have servers that support SSL.

    Edit:
    To answer your question Se7enLC, I believe its a blanket block on those ports, since PCs use the same connection for wireless broadband.
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2010
  9. thelion
    Offline

    thelion New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I....don't know what IRC is but it sounds like it is blocked because it is used for unsafe activities. And if it can happen to a computer - it can happen to a phone. Maybe it hasn't yet but I bet it can.

    And...what the heck is IRC?
  10. JGard
    Offline

    JGard New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes, Wifi has been disabled on my phone since day 1. Nevermind that my office doesn't even offer wifi and I've been on IRC from my desk numerous times. On top of that, I also don't believe I connect via SSL...but I'm not able to figure it out now that the server has been set up in the app.

    Also as a note, I do not have that $45/mo. data plan for corporations, I have the standard $30/mo data plan
  11. Anomander
    Offline

    Anomander New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I use Andchat and IRC works just fine on my droid. I connect to port 6667 and 7000 and hell I use IRC on home with verizon DSL and have no problems with it. What servers are you trying to connect to? I use Undernet and everything seems to be fine there.
    EDIT: I am also able to use it on 3G or WiFi
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2010
  12. JoeyNWZ
    Offline

    JoeyNWZ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    I wonder if it is location based, I'm in new york and can ONLY connect via SSL to any network..
  13. JoeyNWZ
    Offline

    JoeyNWZ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York

    Internet Relay Chat - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
  14. carbine
    Offline

    carbine New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    I'm using AndChat and connecting to servers via 3G, port 6667 without SSL.
  15. CKyle22
    Offline

    CKyle22 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've only been unable to connect to P2P-Network via 3G. Even with SSL.

    Everywhere else is fine though.
  16. qoncept
    Offline

    qoncept New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Eh, fIRC is working fine for me?
  17. radioz
    Offline

    radioz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Andchat works great for me on both wifi and 3G.
  18. sapo916
    Offline

    sapo916 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Works fine here, I have Android IRC and it barely uses any battery and has a great interface. For example if someone says my username it will pop up a notification on my phone. Great stuff.
  19. ChugIt
    Offline

    ChugIt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.

    Same, I use Andchat like a charm on 3G all the time. That's kinda BS for those that can't. Why would it be blocked in some places and not others? No.... Why would it be blocked period? Trojans Shmojans....







    EDIT: I just realized how old this thread is! Carry on.... heh
  20. iPirate
    Offline

    iPirate New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think they block efnet
Search tags for this page
efnet verizon wireless
,
gamesurge on droid irc verizon
,
how to connect to irc on verizon phone
,
is verizon blocking port 6667
,
quakenet connecting on verizon wireless
,
rizon irc verizon
,
unable to connect to irc on verizon
,
undernet
,

verizon block irc

,

verizon blocking irc

,
verizon blocking undernet
,
verizon blocking undernet.org
,

verizon blocks irc

,

verizon irc

,
verizon port 6667