1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Droid does GPS tethering for Google Earth on PC "Guide"

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by exabits, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. exabits
    Offline

    exabits New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In this guide you will learn how to use your android phone as a standalone gps for google earth on pc.

    Note: Your phone and computer must have bluetooth.

    1. Download and install google earth on your pc.
    2. Download GooPsPro2_5_3Beta.exe -Thanks developer Dave for compatiblity code change
    3. Download and install BlueNMEA from Android Market

    Setup:

    1. Pair your phone with pc through bluetooth
    2. Create a com port for bluetooth on your pc. Goto your bluetooth settings. Select the middle tab "COM Ports". Click Add... then ok. After this you should have a com port listed.
    3. Start the Goops program you downloaded earlier. Goto options and select the com port you created in the previous step. Uncheck Autoconnect, Autoscan and Compress.
    4. Now press Connect, GE should open and Goops will say opening COM"#": #- the number you selected
    5. On your phone open BlueMNEA, press connect, your bluetooth pc should be listed, select it. If all went well it will establish a connection and you will then have gps on your pc. If it doesnt connect, often trying again will fix it. If not, something else is wrong.

    [​IMG]


    Edit: This is for Real-time GPS tracking and Navigation. Best used with a Carputer.
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2010
  2. SGTiger
    Offline

    SGTiger New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice information, thanks!
  3. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Pretty freakin' cool.
  4. SGTiger
    Offline

    SGTiger New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wonder if its possible for other PC navigation software besides Google Earth to see the Droid as a GPS unit?
  5. exabits
    Offline

    exabits New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is definitely possible. Whether the software will have to be tweaked to properly communitcate with BlueMNEA is the real question. For this to work properly I had to work with the developer of Goops. He had to tweak Goops to properly read the output of BlueMNEA. Before the code change, Earth would locate me to Algeria, Africa ><. In short there was a hemisphere communication problem between Goops and BlueMNEA. A quick code change from him landed me in China "Beta1". Another quick change later and he landed me at my doorstep "Beta2". At this time it was flawless but he found another spot in the code to change and which seemed to make it more accurate. Hence the Beta3 that I have linked here.
  6. KKB
    Offline

    KKB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm showing up in Africa too

    @exabits
    DO you still have problems with showing up in Africa. I've tried the steps several times. The BT connects great, G Earth works great accept for me being in the ocean just off the west coast of Africa. Help? This could be a great feature.
  7. exabits
    Offline

    exabits New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, all problems of the Africa location were fixed by the developer of Goops. I'm guessing you are trying to use Goops that you downloaded from his site. You must use the beta3 Goops version he released to me, in the first post.
  8. KKB
    Offline

    KKB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the quick reply!

    I may be missing something. This is the one I downloaded. From Post 1


    "
    1. Download and install google earth on your pc.
    2. Download GooPsPro2_5_3Beta.exe -Thanks developer Dave for compatiblity code change
    3. Download and install BlueNMEA from Android Market

    Setup:


    "
  9. exabits
    Offline

    exabits New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm, well if the beta3 that I linked in the first post isn't working for you then I suggest emailing the developer. He was very quick to respond to me and more then willing to adjust his code for my needs. Out of curiosity, where in the world are you located? I assume it's not in the USA. You may try downloading goops from GooPs End User License Agreement. See where the standard 2.5 will locate you
  10. KKB
    Offline

    KKB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll try the developer

    I'm in Northern Colorado. Your first post was a result of a google search for bluetooth+gps+tether. Those instructions were the only ones I tried. I actually had never heard of GooPs.
    Thanks for the lead.
  11. monkeydog
    Offline

    monkeydog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I followed the directions to a T and cannot get this to work on windows xp. I downloaded everything and made the com port and set everything up exactly as said. When I try to connect with bluenmea it doesn't find anything.
  12. exabits
    Offline

    exabits New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It sounds like you need to set your computers bluetooth to discoverable.

    Edit: I just want to mention my "guide" isn't perfect. There is a detail or 2 missing, such as enabling bluetooth discovery. It's not the easiest gps system to setup but it does work very well once done.
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2010
  13. exabits
    Offline

    exabits New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Is this where it is locating you when you think your connected?
    [​IMG]


    Edit: I recently had a conflict with new A2DP bluetooth drivers on my pc. BlueNMEA would connect but Goops/GE weren't getting the gps cordinates from it. Is this like what you are experiencing KKB?

    If BlueNMEA connects properly...you will see something like this.
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2010
  14. monkeydog
    Offline

    monkeydog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks that worked. Now to just figure out how to keep it from zooming way in on my location.
  15. exabits
    Offline

    exabits New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is good to hear. I'm not sure but I think only the unlocked/paid version of goops will allow turning auto zoom off.
  16. T.Lancer
    Offline

    T.Lancer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I too have followed everything to the letter. however i can't seem to get the GPS coordinants to my PC. it says "opening COM 3" Com 3 is is my Bluetooth COM port.

    But my phone doesn't seem to activate the port. bluetooth services for my phone also doesn't list a BT com port. using any other service, such as file transfer, it would ask for authorization. Unfortunatly this isn't the case with my current setup, so somehow something is still missing.

    any ideas?

    Phone is a motorola Milestone (european Droid)

    edit: ok it was my bluetooth stick and/or the bluesoleil software for it.

    works fine with the standard windows GPS drivers
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2010
  17. lesismore4u
    Offline

    lesismore4u New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why Bluetooth? I'm wondering if this would be possible with a usb connection. I do have bluetooth on my phone and my netbook, but not on my primary laptop.
Search tags for this page

android gps tether

,
android gps tether google earth
,

android gps to pc

,
android to pc gps
,
connect android gps to google earth
,
connect gps android to pc
,
google earth gps android phone
,
gps android pc
,
gps google earth android
,
phone gps to pc
,
share android gps with pc
,
share gps android to pc
,
tether gps
,
use android gps google earth
,

use android gps on pc