Droid dock and accuweather

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by type1fan, Jan 21, 2010.

  1. type1fan
    Offline

    type1fan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Petersburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did a quick scan on the forums and didn't see this anywhere so i apologize in advance if this has been posted before. I was wondering if, since when you place the Droid in the home cradle, you get weather for your area by way of Accuweather. Does that mean there is an accuweather app running in the background? If so, is there anyway to access it so I don't have to install a second app for weather to view it on my home screen?
     
  2. REMilk
    Offline

    REMilk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On a Cribbage board
    Ratings:
    +7
    Weather Apps

    There is no reason not to put a weather application on your phone, there are several to choose from depending on your needs.

    I use Weatherbug. I travel a lot and like the ability for the Droid to get the weather info based on my location. Many weather apps have this ability.

    Enjoy the Droid!

    Bob
     
  3. droidfannd
    Offline

    droidfannd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Ratings:
    +0
    I like both Weatherbug AND The Weather Channel application. :)
     
  4. type1fan
    Offline

    type1fan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Petersburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am running Weatherbug but if I didn't HAVE to have an additional app, I'd rather not. So I'm guessing the answer to my initial question is no.
     
  5. REMilk
    Offline

    REMilk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On a Cribbage board
    Ratings:
    +7
    This differs from your original post where you talked about accuweather while in the cradle. I am confused, exactly what is your question?
     
  6. Droid101
    Offline

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York State
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the home cradle accuweather is the default I do not believe you can change that. But when it isn't in the cradle you can have any other weather app running
     
  7. type1fan
    Offline

    type1fan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Petersburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    My question is pretty simple, is there a way to run the (apparently already installed) accuweather app that shows when the Droid is in the cradle, when it's not in the cradle? I am running Weatherbug when my Droid is not docked but if Accuweather is already installed on it, I'd rather just use one app. Sorry if you can't understand what I'm asking, I'm making it as simple as I can.
     
  8. Droid101
    Offline

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York State
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes if you go to the android market you can download the Accuweather app and there is also an accuweather widget in the market. But it is NOT preinstalled on the phone it is just default on the Dock. SO all you have to do is download it through the market and you will have it:)
     
  9. linkish
    Offline

    linkish New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, look people,

    you're missing the point of the question completely.

    Within the multimedia dock app (the one that automagically takes over when you put the phone in the cradle), the phone is able to retrieve weather info from Accuweather. The OP is asking whether you can just use that functionality outside of the dock to view the weather, without having to download anything from the Market.


    Anyhow. Type1fan, to answer your question: I don't believe you can, no. Why, I have no idea; it strikes me as faintly ridiculous that they have built-in weather functionality that you can only use in one limited scenario. If I had to hazard a rough guess, I'd say it's because they want the competition and diversity in the Android Market. Hope I've answered this to your satisfaction.
     
  10. Droid101
    Offline

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York State
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats what I said I said that you have to go through the market and it wasn't preinstalled in the phone.
     
  11. REMilk
    Offline

    REMilk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On a Cribbage board
    Ratings:
    +7
    By careful placement of a magnet you can access the Media Dock functions without loading any additional apps.
     
  12. type1fan
    Offline

    type1fan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Petersburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you

    Linkish hit what I was asking right on the head and thank you for the response. I, too, think it's silly that you can access weather in the dock without installing anything but you have to install a separate app to view it outside of the dock. It's not really a problem but I like to keep as few apps installed in my devices as necessary. Extra clutter tends to slow down efficiency in most cases (at least to me). I have used dock runner to simulate the dock but that's still an additional app.
     
  13. dylanthecat
    Offline

    dylanthecat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is even stranger is that the 2.1 news/weather genie (from google) uses weather channel to get it's info.
     
  14. type1fan
    Offline

    type1fan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Petersburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    One more thing, if the Accuweather app is not installed on the phone in anyway, shape or form, how does it run when the Droid is in the dock? :motdroidhoriz:
     
  15. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Dock.apk, which is the app the runs when you're docked, contains the code to pull the weather from the weather channel. So its a dock/weather app if that makes sense.
     
Search tags for this page

accuweather app for droid

,
change home setting in accuweather platinum app on droid max
,
dock screen weather location samsung s4 accuweather
,
docking accuweather on android
,
how do i put a weather dock on my phone
,
how do i replace accuweather on my droid
,
how do i replace accuweather on my droid with weather channe
,
how to change default location in accuweather android
,
how to get accu-weather on a droid phone
,
show dock app for robaz33g weather