Droid croaked

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by 1linuxfreak, May 9, 2010.

  1. 1linuxfreak

    1linuxfreak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well about 4 days ago my Motor Droid took a dive.
    Went to YouTube and watched a video backed out of YouTube and bam, Droid went crazy started flickering, would start typing text on it's own, switching screens, no tap response. Pulled bat, did hard reset would work for a few seconds then start again.
    VZ store did order me a replacement, got the replacement and it has the loose lower left screen problem, so VZ ordered me another one.
    Can't say what caused the first problem but phone was in bad shape.
     
  2. Kmart95

    Kmart95 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow that's really weird I don't think I've ever heard of a droid doing that. It obviously wasn't "bricked" because from what you said it started up and everything it just didn't work properly, were you rooted or anything like that?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. assmunke

    assmunke Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like suicide to me
     
  4. Hugh Jass

    Hugh Jass Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +88
    Being self aware is terminal.
     
  5. AnneDroid

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    The original Droid wackiness sounds like the ever popular use of an aftermarket charger. Have read of it doing this many times. It is a matter of the Droid not getting the proper voltage draw. The DROID draws 850ma, any less and you'll get some really 'weird' results.
     
  6. 1linuxfreak

    1linuxfreak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No ,was not rooted. Charger is one that came with it.
    I did do 2.1 manually, but was working fine for sometime.
    There was no signs of any problems just bam.
    Toyota syndrome. :)