Droid constantly switching from 3G to 1x

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by ultremann, Feb 26, 2010.

  1. ultremann
    Offline

    ultremann New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been noticing recently that my phone would go from showing 2 bars on 3G to 1x in areas where it used to always get 3 or 4 bars on 3G. Is there a way to tell the phone not to switch over to 1x?

    Unfortunately, the signal and reception were fine for me in the initial 30 days, but now when I can't return without an ETF charge, my signal is less than stellar. I've called support, done a reset, and did the 228 thing.

    I'm not familiar with the whole rooting thing but is there anything you can do with that to help the signal?
  2. tebo1955
    Offline

    tebo1955 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Humm mine has been doing the same thing,and I have tried the same things you have but to no avail. so I will wait and see
  3. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    No. Rooting won't help you.
  4. bill12690
    Offline

    bill12690 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    keep hounding verizon about it, they probably need to either have a service request, or ticket filed for you...
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    +1. That's what I did and Verizon did fix it. I had the same issue.
  6. malaver
    Offline

    malaver New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What was the fix?

    I just got the Motorola Droid last week and I've noticed a switching from 3G to 1x, and in some cases no signal at all. It seems like it just fluctuates. Doesn't happen all the time, but enough to make me worry. Hookbill, I'm interested in knowing what the fix from Verizon was for your case. Did they tell you what caused the issue and how they fixed it?
  7. Jcook54
    Offline

    Jcook54 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine does the same thing but only at my house. I just figured the signal was weak and there wasn't much I could do about it. I didn't think it was something Verizon could fix short of adding a new tower. I'll give them a call and see what they can do. Thanks for the info!
Search tags for this page

3g always switches to 1x

,
how do you change 1x to 3g on galaxy 2
,
iphone switching from 1x to 3g all time
,

my phone keeps switching from 3g to 1x

,
phone is constantly 1x
,

phone keeps alternating between 3g and 1x

,

phone keeps switching from 3g to 1x

,
stop cricket from switching to 1x
,
switching from 3g to 1x
,

verizon keeps changing from 3g to 1x

,

verizon phone switching between 3g and 1x

,
why does my 3g iphone keep changing to 1x
,
why does my cell phone go from 1x to 3g
,

why does my phone keep switching to 1x

,
why does my verizon cell signal go from 3g to 1x