Droid Charge Memory Leak

Discussion in 'Samsung Droid Charge' started by raptorspike, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. raptorspike
    Offline

    raptorspike New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, so when talking with my dad who also has a DC, he laughs how I have memory issues. I use the built in app manager to close everything before even THINKING about running a game. After 30 minutes of use, I may have 50-60mb of RAM free. I have no idea what is either leaking or chewing up memory. I have Froyo with the EE4 update. I can provide any information about what I have installed to aid in helping with this issue.
     
  2. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    im wondering why this is an issue?
    when you have issues doing something you want to do because there is no "memory"
    then we will have something to discuss.
    not trying to sound like an ass, but how much memory you have means nothing, until its the cause of a problem...
     
  3. BeefJerky
    Offline

    BeefJerky Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Agreed. Froyo has built-in memory management that will free up memory when needed. By going in and manually closing programs, you are simply wasting your time. Also, don't install 3rd party task managers; they cause more problems than they solve.
     
  4. raptorspike
    Offline

    raptorspike New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    its an issue because after playing a game or using a social network app, I have to wait for my homescreens and app drawer to redraw. I've uninstalled the app killers I had and that really did nothing
     
  5. Down2Earth
    Offline

    Down2Earth Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    I dare the mods to give me another infraction for being sincere....

    Just because you download an app...does NOT mean it's going to work
    properly nor does it mean that it was coded properly to work with your phone.

    You're not rocking a quad core phone with 2GB of Ram.
    Sometimes a redraw will happen even with the best specs
    and with the best app launcher (which TW 3 is NOT)

    Be patient and be wary of apps you download.
    They aren't all equal.
     
  6. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    i would install voodoo kernel, and use launcher pro, adw, or go launcher.
     
  7. raptorspike
    Offline

    raptorspike New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow @Down2Earth, really? I'm not rocking a quad-core with 2GB of RAM??

    No Duh, I know the phone only has a 1GHz single-core and 328MB of RAM. and I don't use TouchWiz. I put LauncherPro on the second day I got it.
     
  8. muzicman
    Offline

    muzicman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have to agree with Raptorspike. I have to kill apps as well before I can play any games such as PvZ or Walkabout etc else my phone will either freeze or the application itself will crash. I can see the effect of reclaim of memory as right after the crash, my free memory is at about 200K.

    The biggest issue for me is when I am using Google Maps and a phone call comes in. Both freeze up.

    I must say I came from a Nexus One and not a day goes by without me missing my N1.
     
  9. nlinecomputers
    Offline

    nlinecomputers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can the charge be rooted? If so I would try and run v6 supercharger on it. It will reconfigure how android memory manager prioritizes apps and when it decides to kill an app.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  10. zeppelinrox
    Offline

    zeppelinrox Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, if you do option 2 in terminal and it actually fixes the issue... I'll probably make it a SuperCharger feature...

    It came from http://www.droidforums.net/forum/li...ou-guide-better-preformance-battery-life.html which in turn had come from imoseyon.
     
  11. andreiantal
    Offline

    andreiantal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is a memory leak. Nothing much can be done about it. I have installed gummy charged rom 1.9.1 along with voodoo lag fix. I am using startup manager in combination with bloat freezer to stop some the apps but it still doesn't work properly. You have to restart from time to time. It doesn't take that long and I got used to it. It is a shame after pointing our fingers on Microsoft so many years we ended up in the same situation.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
     
  12. zeppelinrox
    Offline

    zeppelinrox Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you try what I posted?

    I'm curious to see if this works... type in terminal:

    sync; echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
     
  13. nlinecomputers
    Offline

    nlinecomputers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1

    And you have verified this how? There are two apps in the market, one called memory Memory Usage, and the other Watchdog, which monitors CPU use. I would load both and run awhile and really see which app is causing your problem. I'm betting you are blaming the OS for a misbehaving application.
     
  14. andreiantal
    Offline

    andreiantal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have watchdog installed and I am monitoring the apps. It is the android process which stays most of the time as the first option on the list. I come from dx and I bought this phone I knew exactly in what I was getting into. SG is a failure as a phone. Only an AOSP rom could save it.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
     
  15. andreiantal
    Offline

    andreiantal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried it but now I am after reboot and I don't see any difference. I will run the command again for sure. I hate when it becomes slow at the point where the bluetooth is breaking up so much I fell like putting the SG on the ground and drive my car over it.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
can you add more ram to a dtoid charge
,
clear ram on samsung charge
,

droid charge memory leak

,
droid charge ram problem
,
droid charge ram specs
,
free up ram on samsung charge
,
how do i clear the ram on my droid charge
,
how to clear memory on samsung charge
,

how to clear ram on samsung charge

,
samsung charge clear ram