Droid Call Quality

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by bigcurt, Apr 15, 2010.

1. bigcurt

bigcurt New Member

Hi everyone,

As I said in earlier threads, I am new to both Verizon and to smart phones in general. However, for some reason some of the people I am speaking to are reporting very pool call quality. Has anyone else ran into these problems? If so, is there any sort of fix for it to see if I can make it better? They seem to say that it sounds a little better when I am on speakerphone.

I have also already tried *228 or whatever and updated roaming things like Verizon told me to do.

Thanks a lot,
    Curt
  2. bassjason

bassjason New Member

I have the same problem. The person on the other end sounds perfect to me, but I often get complaints that I am hard to understand. I actually returned my first Droid because I thought there was something wrong with it, but by my 3rd one I realized it's not a fluke. Although there are apparently quite a few people that don't have any problems so who knows.
  3. bigcurt

bigcurt New Member

Yes, I am not sure either but it does seem to be a problem.
  4. Sitruss

Sitruss New Member

go into the phone and dial ##PROGRAM, then go to Vocode and choose EVRC-B, then hit back until you're back in the menu and choose data rates. Select the first option in the submenu and scroll all the way down to the last option. It should be one hundred fifty something by one hundred fifty something. Go back to the homescreen and your phone will automatically reboot.

I think this should help with your call quality on the other end.

EDIT: after dialing ##PROGRAM, enter 000000 (six zeroes) for the SPC password.
  5. srichter

srichter New Member

a lot of people seem to have this issue that it sounds muffled to the person on the other end. ##program makes a little difference, but I still get complaints since i have changed Vocode to EVRC-B a month ago.
  6. hookbill

hookbill Premium Member Premium Member