Droid Browser Question...

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by BostonDroid, Dec 9, 2009.

  1. BostonDroid
    Offline

    BostonDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello...been lurking for a while and love the forum. Had a quick question. With the new update, every time I open the browser it takes me to google.com instead of my default home address. Anyone know why this is? kinda frustrating... Then I will go to the windows and there is about 6-7 google pages open each time. Any advise? Thanks!
  2. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1. Try the time tested reboot of the device. Maybe even a batt pull to be sure. Reboot and see if that solves it.

    I don't know why but maybe you have to reset your homepage? Shouldn't have to with the update but maybe that solves it.
  3. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,793
    Likes Received:
    578
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    might have to change your homepage again. I left it at google personally so i didn't notice the change but maybe they did
  4. BostonDroid
    Offline

    BostonDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried everything...it still opens up a new google page.
  5. BostonDroid
    Offline

    BostonDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just did a battery pull, opened up the browser and google.com opened up instead of Boston.com that I have as the default home page. Frustrating!
  6. andrewdoane
    Offline

    andrewdoane New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1 too many windows open at a time... that happens to me all the time. I don't know how it happens. Sorry if this is a hijack.
  7. LordKastle
    Offline

    LordKastle New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I definitely advocate changing the homepage to either a fake address so the page loads immediately without any load-time or another webpage.

    Why give Google infinite hits on their webpage for no reason when you may not be interested in going? They have implemented all their features on the operating system anyway, to give them infinite hits on their site because it is your homepage is irresponsible. Unfortunately most do not think like this.