Droid automatically mounting USB Storage

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Gkope, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. Gkope

    Gkope Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Droid has started automatically mounting and turning on USB storage when plugged into the USB port on my computer. Is there a setting that may have gotten toggled on that would cause this? I'd like to get things back to where my Droid would just charge, but not turn on USB storage unless I specifically turn it on.
    Running stock 2.1.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. dylanthecat

    dylanthecat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    My SD card mounts automatically now as well. This changed for me with 2.1. I kind of like it actually. Don't know of a way to change it.
     
  3. emlan

    emlan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is probably a stupid question, but do you have the program AutoMount (I think this is what it's called) installed and enabled?
     
  4. tsnstuff

    tsnstuff New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've also started having this issue. No idea why. But I'm pretty sure it just started recently and omg did they make the Froyo keyboard better? I don't recall ever typing this fast on my Droid.

    Anyway, I too would like to know if there is a setup I'm not seeing.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. dylanthecat

    dylanthecat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do not have the program installed.
     
  6. MAD450r

    MAD450r Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    Id like to know

    I usually use automount, which does not work currently on froyo. If anyone finds how they have this enabled please reply to this thread. I want automount back.
     
  7. Tino

    Tino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Eastern US
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did anybody recently download the doubletwist app. If you go into in, in preferences it defaults to automatically mount when connected. I had a similar issue until I found out it was this app that caused this.
     
  8. Gkope

    Gkope Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Well, now I just feel dumb that I haven't noticed even though I have had 2.1 installed from the first day I could get it. Thanks. Thought I was going nuts. And no, I don't have Automount installed.
     
  9. tiggerxplur

    tiggerxplur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +1

    i was having the same issue and reading this made me realized it started after i downloaded double twist so thank you very much
     
  10. tsnstuff

    tsnstuff New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is why I love this place. It Was indeed the double twist app. Odd feature for a media program to have.

    Well I guess its related since you need to upload your media but still....

    Anyway Thanks!!!

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  11. TekHawk

    TekHawk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yuba ****ty, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the realplayer app might also do this
     
  12. jjf

    jjf New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for discovering this, it was driving me crazy. Now that apps install to SD, I don't want to unmount the SD from the phone every time I put it in the dock.
     
Search tags for this page
android auto mount usb
,
android auto usb connect
,
android automatic usb storage
,

android automatically turn on usb storage

,
auto usb storage android
,
automatic usb storage android
,
automatically turn on usb storage
,
automatically turn on usb storage android
,
turn off automatic usb storage android
,
usb auto connect android