Droid as a TV remote???

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by yankees2009, Apr 16, 2010.

  1. yankees2009

    yankees2009 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any way of using my droid as a TV remote?? Im sorry if there is allready a thread out there on it but im in a rush. Even though I have my remote It would be cool to use my Droid as a remote just to be a show off to my friend who has the Iphone??
     
  2. Shelooga

    Shelooga Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Flyers Country
    Ratings:
    +0


    i believe only if you have fios. i almost got it but im a miser on storage space and the app is like 7mb. i realize im a wuss but w/e
     
  3. Shelooga

    Shelooga Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Flyers Country
    Ratings:
    +0
    btw, its the year of the phils, again; see you in october
     
  4. nagmier

    nagmier Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No IR on the Droid so in essence no... Shelooga's comment isn't totally off though... FIOS customers can download an app to control the DVR not sure about normal channel changing and volume though... I wont be getting FIOS for a couple months
     
  5. Shelooga

    Shelooga Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Flyers Country
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know I've seen one in the market, I've just never tried it:icon_ banana:
     
  6. Topsy

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    theoretically it's possible, but would require a newer "internet connected" television that will accept commands via the connection because as stated the droid has no IR.
    Haven't seen it yet though.
     
  7. gottaDROID

    gottaDROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ottawa, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's a TiVo App that works great. Of course you gotta have a TiVo box but overall its great.
     
  8. Topsy

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    ya but the tivo is internet connected, a television would have to adopt something similar.
     
  9. joeymoose

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    PocketBlu is a App that controls Pocket Blu enabled Blu-Ray movies. The Droid and the PS3 must be on the same WiFi connections for it to work. It's a cool app.
     
  10. twinkie57

    twinkie57 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would actually like this as well. I am pretty close to buying a ITouch just to have this, I was really hoping that this would be available for Android.
     
  11. schellbl

    schellbl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been using FIOS Mobile Remote. Controls all the functions of my HD box (channels,dvr controls). It works great but only works the HD box and nothing else.
     
  12. schellbl

    schellbl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Forgot to mention that you can "flick" pictures from your phone photo gallery and display it on your TV. It is fun to play with but I don't think I will use it a ton.
     
  13. Mateles

    Mateles Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've only tried it on a few of the Blu-Ray discs I've gotten through Netflix, but apparently none of them were "PocketBlu enabled" (or it's not working for me). I searched around a bit and it doesn't look like too many have this yet.

    List of Blu-Ray Movie Titles With pocket BLU enabled | Hard Drive DVD Recorder Tech News
    Google Search
     
Search tags for this page
can i use my droid x as a tv remote
,
droid as a tv remote
,
droid x remote control tv
,

droid x tv remote

,
droid x2 tv remote
,
how to use droid x as a remote
,
is there a tv remote app for droid x
,
turn htc droid incredible 2 into tv remote
,
tv remote app for droid incredible 2
,
use droid x2 as tv remote