Droid and Windwos 7

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by nagchampa, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. nagchampa

    nagchampa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just got my new laptop with Windows 7. I connected my Droid through one of the USB ports. it is actually some combination eSATA/USB port? anyway, the new computer recognized it, I mounted it and could see all of my pics and videos on the computer, great huh. After I disconnected the Droid, all of the USB ports went dead and would not recognize the phone or my thumb drive. i rebooted the computer and all of the USB ports came back and my thumb drive works fine. But, now the Droid will charge but will not show up as a drive. It repeatedly asks me to mount the device. I updated my Dell drivers and Dell tech support indicated that it is most likely a compatibility issue with the device and windows 7, but could not explain why it worked once. the droid makes all of it's little noises and says it is connected. anyone got any ideas?
     
  2. R1Lover

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine works great with win7 so that's not it.

    reboot your phone and computer and try again.
     
  3. aarontliu

    aarontliu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Geez. I'm getting a Windows 7 laptop next week. I'd like to see what the problem is too.
     
  4. nagchampa

    nagchampa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i did power off / on, should i do a battery removal?
     
  5. nagchampa

    nagchampa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    did all that and still nothing
     
  6. wuyanks

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. korp

    korp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your mounting it each time right? There was a thread talking about adb in the root section and had drivers to download .... I would try to find that if a shift + alt + delete (replaces battery pulls) doesn't work.
     
  8. nagchampa

    nagchampa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i did all of this and am still getting the same result
     
  9. dhuism2

    dhuism2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. alm0614

    alm0614 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    i have windows 7 x64 and no problems what so ever
     
  11. qwiksilver711

    qwiksilver711 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Backwoods Montana
    Ratings:
    +0
    on my laptop with win7 I have this issue also, i have found that if i plug the phone in, hit go to boot, and dont actually sign into my laptop i can mount on the phone, then sign in and that works... or i just use filezilla on my laptop and ftpserver on the phone to do it all wirelessly
     
  12. AnneDroid

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have Windows 7 / 64 bit as well and no problems.
     
  13. Sykes

    Sykes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Win7 32 bit on a Sony laptop that had Vista on it. No issues at all. Easier to modify this Droid than any phone I ever used BitPim for in the last 6-7 years.

    You probably have an app installed on your phone that freezes on a USB mount event.

    Worst case scenario... get a microSD card adapter and plug that into your laptop. 3 lefts to mke a right, but it will getter done for ya.
     
  14. roberj13

    roberj13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 W7x64 no problems with 'mounting my droid'...HA
     
  15. nagchampa

    nagchampa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Thank you qwiksilver711. What do you mean exactly by "go to boot". Also explain the ftpserver on the phone. Besides that, what i don't understand is why 2 separate Motorola techs have told me that the Droid will not work this way "yet" with Windows 7, but some here say it works w/ no problem for them. The techs have told me that it may work a time or possibly two but that it is "unstable". I don't get it, I'm getting very frustrated with it all. I appreciate any and all insight and advice.