Droid and Windwos 7

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by nagchampa, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. nagchampa
    Offline

    nagchampa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i just got my new laptop with Windows 7. I connected my Droid through one of the USB ports. it is actually some combination eSATA/USB port? anyway, the new computer recognized it, I mounted it and could see all of my pics and videos on the computer, great huh. After I disconnected the Droid, all of the USB ports went dead and would not recognize the phone or my thumb drive. i rebooted the computer and all of the USB ports came back and my thumb drive works fine. But, now the Droid will charge but will not show up as a drive. It repeatedly asks me to mount the device. I updated my Dell drivers and Dell tech support indicated that it is most likely a compatibility issue with the device and windows 7, but could not explain why it worked once. the droid makes all of it's little noises and says it is connected. anyone got any ideas?
  2. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    mine works great with win7 so that's not it.

    reboot your phone and computer and try again.
  3. aarontliu
    Offline

    aarontliu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Geez. I'm getting a Windows 7 laptop next week. I'd like to see what the problem is too.
  4. nagchampa
    Offline

    nagchampa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i did power off / on, should i do a battery removal?
  5. nagchampa
    Offline

    nagchampa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did all that and still nothing
  6. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. korp
    Offline

    korp New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your mounting it each time right? There was a thread talking about adb in the root section and had drivers to download .... I would try to find that if a shift + alt + delete (replaces battery pulls) doesn't work.
  8. nagchampa
    Offline

    nagchampa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i did all of this and am still getting the same result
  9. dhuism2
    Offline

    dhuism2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. alm0614
    Offline

    alm0614 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have windows 7 x64 and no problems what so ever
  11. qwiksilver711
    Offline

    qwiksilver711 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Backwoods Montana
    on my laptop with win7 I have this issue also, i have found that if i plug the phone in, hit go to boot, and dont actually sign into my laptop i can mount on the phone, then sign in and that works... or i just use filezilla on my laptop and ftpserver on the phone to do it all wirelessly
  12. AnneDroid
    Offline

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have Windows 7 / 64 bit as well and no problems.
  13. Sykes
    Offline

    Sykes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Win7 32 bit on a Sony laptop that had Vista on it. No issues at all. Easier to modify this Droid than any phone I ever used BitPim for in the last 6-7 years.

    You probably have an app installed on your phone that freezes on a USB mount event.

    Worst case scenario... get a microSD card adapter and plug that into your laptop. 3 lefts to mke a right, but it will getter done for ya.
  14. roberj13
    Offline

    roberj13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    +1 W7x64 no problems with 'mounting my droid'...HA
  15. nagchampa
    Offline

    nagchampa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thank you qwiksilver711. What do you mean exactly by "go to boot". Also explain the ftpserver on the phone. Besides that, what i don't understand is why 2 separate Motorola techs have told me that the Droid will not work this way "yet" with Windows 7, but some here say it works w/ no problem for them. The techs have told me that it may work a time or possibly two but that it is "unstable". I don't get it, I'm getting very frustrated with it all. I appreciate any and all insight and advice.
  16. dhuism2
    Offline

    dhuism2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, it's a Windows 7 problem, not a Droid/app problem.

    If the original poster follows my link, he will get it to work.
  17. nagchampa
    Offline

    nagchampa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks dhuism2. i did the tech republic thing and still nothing. i followed the instructions to a T
  18. dhuism2
    Offline

    dhuism2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Damn, that sucks.

    I have the same problem as you, and that was literally my last line of defense. I tried absolutely everything, and that was the only workaround that allowed me to mount.

    All I can say is double check with my link and make sure you reboot. Good luck.
  19. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Yeah, he had an old driver in there somewhere. I have no issues on laptop, thru usb or the esata/usb port, x64, nor on my desktop with 7 x64 as well, either on a direct usb or on my ext hub.
  20. nagchampa
    Offline

    nagchampa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah that sux, i just connected to my desktop with XP with no problem, no driver BS or anything, just plug it in and bam. I will say that if there is any weird problem with anything cell phone or computer related, it will no doubt happen to me. Must be my electromagnetic make up or something. oh well, whatever, give it a few months and this will all be obsolete anyway.