Droid and Google Voice Question

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by dutch_2010, Nov 2, 2010.

1. dutch_2010

dutch_2010 New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, and thanks for any help. I am new to Android based phones and Google Voice, but am looking to purchase a device (1st version Motorola Droid most likely) to learn how things work. Sorry if this question has been asked before, but here goes:

Are there issues with this scenario (or parts of it)?

1. I purchase a Droid with no plans.
    2. I have no home phone plan, but have high speed internet.
    3. I install Google Voice on the Droid.
    4. I make and receive calls within the US with Google Voice on the Droid on my home wifi.

To take this further:

5. I make and receive calls within the US with Google Voice at various wifi hotspots around my home (starbucks, mall etc..).

I know this has been pondered by many a cheap skate, but last one.

6. I buy an unlimited data plan from phone carrier for Droid.
    7. I make and receive calls within the US with Google Voice via the unlimited data plan provided by phone carrier when not in the presence of home wifi or other wifi hotspots.

Thanks you!

2. tonydelite

tonydelite Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Google Voice does not use data, it uses minutes.

You need a voice plan to use google voice.

3. dutch_2010

dutch_2010 New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you. So, not going to work on a data plan provided by a carrier, phone company.

How about while on my home wifi, or at wifi hotspots?

Still paying for a home-based phone connection and would like to replace it.

Thanks.

4. hookbill

hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

Ratings:
    +8
    All you can do with Google Voice and data is text. You cannot use it to make calls as you must have cell service out to use Google Voice for calls.

You cannot use MMS with Google Voice, only SMS

5. takeshi

takeshi Silver Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Those are still data.

6. dutch_2010