Droid, ADB Drivers, and Windows 7

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by pcm2a, Nov 8, 2009.

1. pcm2a

pcm2a New Member

Hey all. I've been developing with a G1 and a HTC Magic for many months on
    Windows 7 64bit + Eclipse and everything is great.

When I plug my new Moto Droid up it tries to install some Motorola A855 drivers which it cannot find. Bummer.

I tried getting on the motodev site and downloading the XP/Vista 64 bit A855 drivers (.msi package) but they won't install on windows 7. Any ideas on how to get the drivers installed and up and running?
  2. R1Lover

R1Lover New Member

My win 7 installed the driver automatically.... not sure why yours wouldn't?
  3. SinisterX

SinisterX New Member

Try installing the drivers using the Compatibility Mode. Right click the install, goto properties, then click the Compatibility Tab, check the box that sais run in compatibility mode, and try either Vista SP1 or XP SP2 and see if that will let you install the drivers that way...if not then there may be something wrong with either your phone or the version of Windows 7 that you're using.
  4. xyvyx

xyvyx New Member

if compatibility mode doesn't do the trick, you might be able to use this:
    InstEd It! - InstEd - Make packaging more productive

With this utility, you can change some of the validation rules to ignore the OS version restriction. I've had multiple occasions on a Win2k8 server x64 where the A855 drivers cannot be found...
  5. praeceps

praeceps New Member

It might be a driver signing issue perhaps? IF it is, you CAN get it working by pressing F8 and disabling driver signage limitations. I've had to only ever do this for one thing... the drivers for the PS3 controller. The worst part was it had to be done each boot up. Ugh... and on an a laptop with 11 OSes... you forget to do it really easily, ESPECIALLY when you intend to do it...
  6. Stigy

Stigy New Member

7. Randomocity

Randomocity New Member