Droid A8500 Data Usaage??

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by tigerpilot1, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. tigerpilot1
    Offline

    tigerpilot1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here's the setup... Droid connected to Wifi. Good signal. Yet when I check, there is always SOME Non-WiFi data usage. Maybe 300kb every few hours. Not a lot but why isn't the Droid ALWAYS using the WiFi if it's connected? I'm with PagePlus so I don't have unlimited data.
    Thanks..
  2. 640k
    Offline

    640k Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    because it's a smartphone that requires a data tether. if you want your phone to have no data usage, you have to unlink it from your google account and forget about installing ANY application that checks the internet for updates (such as SportsTap or FB).
  3. blitzburgh39
    Offline

    blitzburgh39 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    the question is.. why do you have pageplus with the droid?
  4. tigerpilot1
    Offline

    tigerpilot1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have a problem with the phone going onlin to connect for data.....just don't understand why it doesn't use the Wi-Fi for the connection.
  5. tigerpilot1
    Offline

    tigerpilot1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Using PagePlus 'cause it's $29.95 (including all taxes) and the included 50MB is generally plenty of data.
  6. blitzburgh39
    Offline

    blitzburgh39 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    well the droid HAS to connect to the network to get some service (text, phone). So it will always be using nonwifi data usage. the droid is not something to have a on a prepaid or even limited data usage account.
  7. 640k
    Offline

    640k Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    50MB is NOT plenty for ANY smartphone. i can eat through 50MB on a single webpage.
  8. blitzburgh39
    Offline

    blitzburgh39 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA

    50 mb!!!! thats nothing man! you just made my head like. crumble.

    lol!

    um. i pay 29.99 a month on my parents account... it would probably be like 60 for your own.

    i have unlimited everything except minutes.

    your getting ripped off my friend.

    how did you even get the droid ON pageplus?
  9. blitzburgh39
    Offline

    blitzburgh39 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    hey tiger. noticed your area code is 239.. fort myers.. my family has a house down there. in naples.

    it rang a bell.
  10. tigerpilot1
    Offline

    tigerpilot1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep...Naples for the last 13 years. Originally Chicago.
    Regards...
  11. PJnc284
    Offline

    PJnc284 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    more like $90+ on verizon. 59.99 for 450min text and talk plan, 29.99 for data. So that's 89.98+insurances, taxes, fees
  12. blitzburgh39
    Offline

    blitzburgh39 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Lol yeah. What he said
  13. 640k
    Offline

    640k Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    man i hope i never work anywhere that i can't get a discount on my billing. under the new plans, i pay $86/mo after taxes for 900 min + unl text + $30 data.
  14. blitzburgh39
    Offline

    blitzburgh39 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Since I'm under my parents plan I pay 30 only. I get a discount at sheetz but I'm not the accountholder so it doesn't matter.
  15. teknotronik
    Offline

    teknotronik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Cumberland, Pa
    The Data plan should be $30 with unlimited Mb usage...
  16. droidfannd
    Offline

    droidfannd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Are you able to set a data cap with your cellular provider? Or are they perfectly happy to let you go over the 50mb allotment? How much do you get charged per MB if you go over?
  17. 640k
    Offline

    640k Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    if these providers capped everything, how would they bring in money? it's like asking your bank to never, ever charge you a fee for anything, ever. ;)
  18. blitzburgh39
    Offline

    blitzburgh39 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    lol. thanks to verizon though i have infinite!!!!

    but yeah. 50mb is not good for droid.
  19. DROIDMASTER
    Offline

    DROIDMASTER New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Discount!!

    I get discount for data!!
    only 22.39 with taxes...hehehehe :icon_ banana:
  20. PJnc284
    Offline

    PJnc284 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    not quite. "unlimited" on verizon (or any us carrier for that matter) doesn't mean unlimited.
Search tags for this page

how to get unlimited data on page plus#gsc.tab

,

motolora a8500

,

motorola droid a855 check data usage

,

page plus unlimited data hack