Droid A8500 Data Usaage??

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by tigerpilot1, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. tigerpilot1

    tigerpilot1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's the setup... Droid connected to Wifi. Good signal. Yet when I check, there is always SOME Non-WiFi data usage. Maybe 300kb every few hours. Not a lot but why isn't the Droid ALWAYS using the WiFi if it's connected? I'm with PagePlus so I don't have unlimited data.
    Thanks..
     
  2. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    because it's a smartphone that requires a data tether. if you want your phone to have no data usage, you have to unlink it from your google account and forget about installing ANY application that checks the internet for updates (such as SportsTap or FB).
     
  3. blitzburgh39

    blitzburgh39 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    the question is.. why do you have pageplus with the droid?
     
  4. tigerpilot1

    tigerpilot1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have a problem with the phone going onlin to connect for data.....just don't understand why it doesn't use the Wi-Fi for the connection.
     
  5. tigerpilot1

    tigerpilot1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using PagePlus 'cause it's $29.95 (including all taxes) and the included 50MB is generally plenty of data.
     
  6. blitzburgh39

    blitzburgh39 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    well the droid HAS to connect to the network to get some service (text, phone). So it will always be using nonwifi data usage. the droid is not something to have a on a prepaid or even limited data usage account.
     
  7. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    50MB is NOT plenty for ANY smartphone. i can eat through 50MB on a single webpage.
     
  8. blitzburgh39

    blitzburgh39 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0

    50 mb!!!! thats nothing man! you just made my head like. crumble.

    lol!

    um. i pay 29.99 a month on my parents account... it would probably be like 60 for your own.

    i have unlimited everything except minutes.

    your getting ripped off my friend.

    how did you even get the droid ON pageplus?
     
  9. blitzburgh39

    blitzburgh39 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey tiger. noticed your area code is 239.. fort myers.. my family has a house down there. in naples.

    it rang a bell.
     
  10. tigerpilot1

    tigerpilot1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep...Naples for the last 13 years. Originally Chicago.
    Regards...
     
  11. PJnc284

    PJnc284 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    more like $90+ on verizon. 59.99 for 450min text and talk plan, 29.99 for data. So that's 89.98+insurances, taxes, fees
     
  12. blitzburgh39

    blitzburgh39 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol yeah. What he said
     
  13. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    man i hope i never work anywhere that i can't get a discount on my billing. under the new plans, i pay $86/mo after taxes for 900 min + unl text + $30 data.
     
  14. blitzburgh39

    blitzburgh39 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since I'm under my parents plan I pay 30 only. I get a discount at sheetz but I'm not the accountholder so it doesn't matter.
     
  15. teknotronik

    teknotronik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Cumberland, Pa
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Data plan should be $30 with unlimited Mb usage...
     
Search tags for this page

how to get unlimited data on page plus#gsc.tab

,

motolora a8500

,

motorola droid a855 check data usage

,

page plus unlimited data hack