Droid 4 with no more root access still has a useless SU (Superuser) app

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Hacks' started by Rocky, Sep 5, 2012.

  1. Rocky
    Offline

    Rocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I would really like to regain root acces while avoiding to do a factory data reset. I seem to have (partially?) lost root access sometime shortly before receiving the OTA update to ICS. When I try the traditional one0click rooting process (which I did when it still had GB), it all seems to start off kinda normally, but then gives me some error codes where busybox and su apk are mentioned. Then, after rebooting the phone once or twice, the black screen closes and my phone remains just the same: unrooted and with the su app still in there, not granting any permissions to anyone.

    Any help is very much appreciated.

    Rocky
     
  2. LocoRon
    Offline

    LocoRon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    It sounds similar to the problem I had when I OTA updated to ICS.

    In the end, I had to fastboot the system partition, and then I could root normally.

    All my personal data and settings were left intact.

    Sorry I can't provide more details, but that was the first (and only) time I fastbooted, so I don't remember everything all that well. If you do some searches on these forums for fastbooting Droid 4 I'm sure you can find everything you need (after all, it's how I found what I needed).
     
  3. jsnweitzel
    Offline

    jsnweitzel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try the ics only tool in my signature.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. Rocky
    Offline

    Rocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a bunch for the tip, LocoRon; I'll definitely look into that. Hopefully that'll take care of this issue.

    Best regards,
    Rocky
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2012
  5. Rocky
    Offline

    Rocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I almost missed your post, but am glad I didn't! I'll try that tool first and, if no luck, then the fastboot method. I really appreciate your help as well.

    Cheers,
    Rocky
     
  6. Rocky
    Offline

    Rocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know if you're still around; I was wondering if you had to do some sort of a backup of your settings (I'd love to do mine on Titanium Backup, but it needs root access, which I obviously don't have, although the SU app is still in my phone).
     
  7. Rocky
    Offline

    Rocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What I'd like to try with your tool is:

    Since it says it'll remove the superuser app, which is what I can't get rid of in order to reroot.

    I'm mainly trying to do as least as possible to get the job done, hoping to avoid messing up the phone.
     
  8. Rocky
    Offline

    Rocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    But now that I see "5.", it reads, "Boot in Motorola Recovery"... so I'm not sure how will I go about accomplishing what I intend to accomplish.
     
  9. jsnweitzel
    Offline

    jsnweitzel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just try running the root again. It should work, will probably error on superuser already installed, but should still give you back root.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
     
  10. LocoRon
    Offline

    LocoRon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Unfortunately, I can't remember if I had to do a backup of my settings or not. I had already backed up my settings with TiB prior to the ICS OTA (and thus, before losing root functionality); I don't think I needed to restore them.
     
  11. Rocky
    Offline

    Rocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's taking me forever to get this done. I hope you're still around. As of now I'm downloading an "ICS Fastboot" file (or whatever it is) that I found in these same forums (http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-4-roms/220480-ics-fastboot.html#post2231576). I just don't know exactly how do I go about using it once it's downloaded (it's taking a while). It would be really helpful you can share a little more.
     
  12. jsnweitzel
    Offline

    jsnweitzel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1
    You need rsd lite or you can use my ics lite tool.

    Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk 2
     
  13. Rocky
    Offline

    Rocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm back after all this time. Thanks for your help.

    I'm trying RSDLite with no luck (something's wrong), but I'll try to give your tool a try.

    Thanks again.
     
  14. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Ratings:
    +12
    Rocky, did Jsnweitzel's tool work?
     
  15. Rocky
    Offline

    Rocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was closer to being done with the one you suggested, so I went all the way through.

    Now the phone seems to be clean and fully stock (no more SU app, finally!) , but now the problem is I can't re-root...
     
Search tags for this page
after root still dont have root acces
,
how to remove superuser from driod 4
,

how to remove superuser without root

,

regain root access

,
regain root access android
,
regaining root access
,
remove superuser app without root
,
remove superuser partially rooted
,
root access is useless
,
who do i regain root acess