Droid 4 Utility for Windows/Mac/Linux

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Hacks' started by skylarmb, Feb 28, 2012.

  1. bgarlock

    bgarlock Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    See my post above about having to change permissions on the script files, before you run it. I was getting the *exact* same permission denied, and once I made the changes, I had root after a couple of restarts :)
     
  2. pintocat

    pintocat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could you dumb this down for me? How do you get to su root
     
  3. bgarlock

    bgarlock Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sure - Follow the steps in the OP (Original Post) and where it gets to the step where you change into the directory where you extracted the files (
    cd /home/skylar/Desktop/Droid4UtilityLinux/) Stop.

    Then, enter the following:

    Code:
    
    chown -R root *
    chmod -R 774 *
    
    
    That should make all the files have root as the owner, and allow read/write/execute on them. Then, continue the instructions, where they left off, which is before typing 'bash Droid4Mac'

    Disclaimer: **MAKE SURE YOU ARE IN THE BASE FOLDER OF THE EXTRACTED FILES!!** failing to do so could screw up the permissions on your Mac!! The CAPITAL R switch is so that ALL permissions recursively will be changed!!

    For example, my username is 'bruceg' on my Mac, so do the following to verify you are in the correct folder:

    Code:
    [/COLOR][/LEFT]sh-3.2# pwd
    /Users/bruceg/Desktop/Droid4Mac0.4
    sh-3.2# ls -la
    total 48
    drwx------@  6 bruceg  html     204 May 14 08:43 .
    drwx------+ 60 bruceg  staff   2040 May 14 08:43 ..
    -rw-------@  1 bruceg  html   13771 Mar  2 16:24 Droid4Mac
    -rw-------@  1 bruceg  html     316 Feb 17 23:33 OVERCLOCK INSTRUCTIONS
    -rw-------@  1 bruceg  html     597 Feb 17 23:08 README IF YOU HAVE NO IDEA WHAT YOU ARE DOING
    drwx------@ 18 bruceg  html     612 May 14 08:43 files
    sh-3.2# 
    
    If you don't feel comfortable doing this, I highly suggest an image of your Mac before doing anything, so you have something to fall back on, if you mess something up. Google 'Carbon Copy Cloner' which is a great clone utility for the Mac.





     
  4. cbalde04

    cbalde04 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey, since we have the fastboot files now, could we get a restor option built into this tool? @DHacker29 put together a lifesaver in the released root tool that saved my life when rsdlite failed me (and many others). I tweeted him yesterday, but it might be a good idea to throw it into this tool vs making another one. He said it shouldn't be hard to make one.
    Just an idea.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
     
  5. Solange305

    Solange305 New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive been a longtime jailbreaker on my iphones, but new to android. I used this guide to root my Droid 4, but it seems to be outdated (it mentions gingerbread 2.3.5, and Im on 2.3.6):

    Root DROID 4 On Android 2.3.5 Gingerbread [How-to Tutorial] | Redmond Pie

    I already rooted my phone using it though, can I reroot it using the guide in this thread, or does it not make a difference? Sorry for the super noob questions....
     
    #17 Solange305, May 21, 2012
    Last edited: May 21, 2012
  6. zero7404

    zero7404 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just bought a d4, planning on rooting it. just curious, what is safestrap ? is it the equivalent of droid2 bootstrap ?

    i dont think its necessary to install it because i wont be romming the phone, going to hang out for the official ICS build when its released.

    so does anyone know if i do install ota rootkeeper, when the phone is updated to ICS, will it keep root or lose it ?

    ---
    posted via android
     
  7. zero7404

    zero7404 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    is it true that the droid 4 has a gsm radio for roaming overseas, or is it just capable of roaming on networks with cdma/lte b13 frequencies ?

    if it does have a gsm radio its odd that its not mentioned in the specs on motorola's web site. i heard that ifixit tore one down and found a gsm radio onboard, but why then would this info not be posted to the public ?

    verizon announced it will be enabled via software update, so i guess it does have the capability. what im not sure about is whether the radios can be unlocked to allow other sim cards to be used when in europe.

    ---
    posted via android
     
  8. 4low4fun

    4low4fun Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    When I try and run this utility unzipped it only opens for a split second then closes.. I am running as administrator, I am plugged in using factory cable, I am on charge only, I do have de bugging enabled..
    I'm pretty sure I've seen some guys on here complaining about their dell computers not cooperating with rooting and flashing. Could that be my problem?
    What am I doing wrong?
     
  9. TechTinker

    TechTinker Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not seeming to work for me. I ran as admin, (im using windows 7) it has debugging enabled, and its charge only. Though when I run and try to root my phone it keeps saying "the system cannot find the path specified"

    imgur: the simple image sharer
     
  10. a_lazy_dude

    a_lazy_dude New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Atlantic Highlands, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had the same exact problem. Ended up rooting by running the exploit .bat directly: Security Research by Dan Rosenberg

    Just incase it helps the dev fix this issue, when I ran the exploit, the first lines in the console read:
    [*] Waiting for device...
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    [*] Device found.

    ...after which the rest of the root exploit went through successfully.
     
  11. Droid_Boi86

    Droid_Boi86 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona[Central Park]
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...I followed the instructions step by step, I have windows7. My first go around didn't go well, actually ran into same problems tht the above posters went thru. I thought I was SOL, when I tried the second time around I just double clicked instead of right clicking and ran it without doin it as Admin....poof! Sucesss!!

    Rum the program without having to run it as Admin..

    Sent from my DROID4 using Droid Forums
     
    #23 Droid_Boi86, Jun 9, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2012
  12. elektrosoundwave

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Posting my thanks from my rooted Droid 4. :D
     
Search tags for this page
cannot root droid 4 jb linux
,
download droid4win
,
droid 4 jb utility
,
droid 4 root mac
,

droid 4 root utility

,

droid 4 utility

,
droid 4 utility linux
,
droid4windows.bat download
,
f82bf8d8a085ff95b696712b8caa0f1b
,
md5: f82bf8d8a085ff95b696712b8caa0f1b