Droid 3G & WiFi Behavior Pattern

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Mikejl, Apr 24, 2010.

  1. Mikejl

    Mikejl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Forest, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see a few threads lately about problems with 3G on their Droids. I noticed some consistant behavior on mine that I think other's may also be experiencing.

    If I have WiFi connected, I lose my 3G connection. My phone continues to work perfectly and I don't drop any calls. As soon as I turn WiFi off, my 3G comes back strong.

    My thinking Is that this is by design to save bandwidth on the 3G network.

    Anyone else notice this behavior on their Droid?

    Mike
     
  2. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    That is by design. Your phone only accepts "data" over one sytem at a time....3G or Wifi.
     
  3. radioz

    radioz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Voice calls do not use 3G. So 3G going on and off has no affect on your voice calls.
     
  4. Mikejl

    Mikejl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Forest, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! I did know that, although you wouldn't be able to tell from my post above. :redface:

    Mike
     
  5. tilly01

    tilly01 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    1/2 year in OR. 1/2year in Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi mikej,

    You recently made a post regarding the saving and reloading ringtones I could not find any responses to that note...Can you tell me if I can have and use different ringtones for different email accounts...Sorry this a little off subject but any help would help!...thanx....till01
     
  6. Mikejl

    Mikejl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Forest, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sure you can. I have a different ringtone for messaging, Gmail, and my Cox.net email account.

    Just open each app -->press the droid's "menu" hard button --->select "account settings"

    Then scroll if necessary until you see the "select ringtone" option.

    :)

    Mike
     
  7. leeh48

    leeh48 New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bandon, Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ringtones in contacts

    Hi,

    What I want to do specifically, as I had on my Blackberry, is have a ringtone I download from "Phonezoo" put on one specific contact. So when my wife calls me I know it is her without looking at the phone.

    I want to do the same for co-workers, my brother, daughter, etc. Each with their own ringtone that I select and download from "Phonezoo" online.

    Thanks
    Leeh
     
  8. MrTommy

    MrTommy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carson City, NV
    Ratings:
    +8
    Here is a great YouTube video that deals with importing ringtones into your Droid.


    This guy makes it pretty darned simple. Hope it helps. Good luck. :)
     
  9. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    Very easy to do....just go to each contact in your Contacts and assign whatever ringtone you want for them. The easy way is to create a folder called Media on your SDcard and in that folder create one called ringtones. Put your .mp3 files in there and your phone will list them as choosable ringtones.
     
  10. Mikejl

    Mikejl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Forest, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I do this too only I use Zedge for the custom ringtones.

    Open your contacts --> select the contact you want to change the ringtone --> press the droid's "menu" hard button -->select "options"

    You'll see two menu items, top one is "Ringtone".

    Mike