Droid 3 to get LTE?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by saintlikesniper, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. saintlikesniper

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    According engadget picking up the Droid 3 off contract would be smart because its getting a LTE surprise. Anybody else read this somewhere else or have anything to say about this

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  2. GDP

    GDP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think they just meant hopefully it gets a LTE surprise. They don't have any evidence that it will from what I've read

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
     
  3. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2 XL
    Actually, they said "Make note, VZW's new plans go into effect one week prior to this, so if you're clinging to that grandfathered plan, pick this one up off-contract, and cross your toes it gets an LTE surprise."

    Droid 3 headed to Best Buy on July 14th? -- Engadget

    They clearly made the LTE comment as wishful thinking. It's not an indication that it will be getting it.

    And it's been pretty much 100% shown through several images and sources that if you have a plan with unlimited data for a smartphone already, you won't lose your unlimited data if you sign a new contract. There's no need to buy it off contract to keep your plan (unless you just don't want to sign a new contract).
     
  4. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Slashgear is reporting that the droid 3 is getting lte. Prolly just a mistake on their part.

    Sent from my fascinate
     
  5. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
  6. whiddles

    whiddles Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i would get it if it came with lte. screw the bionic
     
  7. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    That's the first I've seen or heard of the D3 having LTE capabilities. Considering the DX2 doesn't I can't see the D3 having it. Plus the fact its coming out relatively soon I think if it was 4G capable it'd be all over the place.

    sent from somewhere...
     
  8. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    But slashgear is a reliable site right? I wonder where they got their info from. Anyone have a contact at slashgear?

    Sent from my fascinate
     
  9. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    I just emailed slashgear about this

    Sent from my fascinate
     
  10. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Not sure on the reliability of slashgear. But I've seen a lot that says no 4G. Plus it looks too thin for a 4G radio. The current LTE phones are a little chunky because of the LTE radios.

    sent from somewhere...
     
  11. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yea I doubt it has 4g

    Sent from my fascinate
     
  12. Artimis

    Artimis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If VZW and Moto were smart, they'd launch the D3 in two different flavors:

    1) The Droid 3 Global by Motorola:
    Target Customer Base: Users that frequently travel to other countries and/or users that do not live in 4G areas or find 3G speeds are adequate enough and want to keep their cost of the equipment down.
    2-Yr Contract Price: $199

    2) The Droid 3 4G (LTE) by Motorola:
    Target Customer Base: Power users that live in 4G coverage areas or want to have the option when 4G is available in their area. Currently, the ONLY option for a 4G device on VZW is a 4.3" screen/slate form-factor. Unfortunately, there are many people that find 4.3" is too big and need the physical keyboard....this would be appealing to them.
    2-Yr Contract Price: $249

    Personally, I'd fall under #2....I'd take that over the Bionic which will end up being yet another 4.3" slate.
     
Search tags for this page
droid 3 4g lte
,

droid 3 lte

,
droid 3 lte upgrade
,
droid 3 lte?
,
droid lte 3\
,
is a droid 3 lte
,
is a droid 3 lte?
,
is droid 3 lte
,
is the droid 3 lte
,
lte on off droid 3