Droid 3 to get LTE?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by saintlikesniper, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. saintlikesniper

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    According engadget picking up the Droid 3 off contract would be smart because its getting a LTE surprise. Anybody else read this somewhere else or have anything to say about this

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  2. GDP

    GDP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think they just meant hopefully it gets a LTE surprise. They don't have any evidence that it will from what I've read

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
     
  3. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Actually, they said "Make note, VZW's new plans go into effect one week prior to this, so if you're clinging to that grandfathered plan, pick this one up off-contract, and cross your toes it gets an LTE surprise."

    Droid 3 headed to Best Buy on July 14th? -- Engadget

    They clearly made the LTE comment as wishful thinking. It's not an indication that it will be getting it.

    And it's been pretty much 100% shown through several images and sources that if you have a plan with unlimited data for a smartphone already, you won't lose your unlimited data if you sign a new contract. There's no need to buy it off contract to keep your plan (unless you just don't want to sign a new contract).
     
  4. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Slashgear is reporting that the droid 3 is getting lte. Prolly just a mistake on their part.

    Sent from my fascinate
     
  5. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
  6. whiddles

    whiddles Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i would get it if it came with lte. screw the bionic
     
  7. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,339
    Likes Received:
    1,676
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,819
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    That's the first I've seen or heard of the D3 having LTE capabilities. Considering the DX2 doesn't I can't see the D3 having it. Plus the fact its coming out relatively soon I think if it was 4G capable it'd be all over the place.

    sent from somewhere...
     
  8. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    But slashgear is a reliable site right? I wonder where they got their info from. Anyone have a contact at slashgear?

    Sent from my fascinate
     
  9. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    I just emailed slashgear about this

    Sent from my fascinate
     
  10. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,339
    Likes Received:
    1,676
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,819
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Not sure on the reliability of slashgear. But I've seen a lot that says no 4G. Plus it looks too thin for a 4G radio. The current LTE phones are a little chunky because of the LTE radios.

    sent from somewhere...
     
  11. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yea I doubt it has 4g

    Sent from my fascinate
     
  12. Artimis

    Artimis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If VZW and Moto were smart, they'd launch the D3 in two different flavors:

    1) The Droid 3 Global by Motorola:
    Target Customer Base: Users that frequently travel to other countries and/or users that do not live in 4G areas or find 3G speeds are adequate enough and want to keep their cost of the equipment down.
    2-Yr Contract Price: $199

    2) The Droid 3 4G (LTE) by Motorola:
    Target Customer Base: Power users that live in 4G coverage areas or want to have the option when 4G is available in their area. Currently, the ONLY option for a 4G device on VZW is a 4.3" screen/slate form-factor. Unfortunately, there are many people that find 4.3" is too big and need the physical keyboard....this would be appealing to them.
    2-Yr Contract Price: $249

    Personally, I'd fall under #2....I'd take that over the Bionic which will end up being yet another 4.3" slate.
     
Search tags for this page
droid 3 4g lte
,

droid 3 lte

,
droid 3 lte upgrade
,
droid 3 lte?
,
droid lte 3\
,
is a droid 3 lte
,
is a droid 3 lte?
,
is droid 3 lte
,
is the droid 3 lte
,
lte on off droid 3