droid 3 software update

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by matt192004, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. pinback

    pinback Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I keep getting "software update failed". Im rooted, no bloat removed. I can't find any really helpful info. Any ideas?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  2. mrcastillo

    mrcastillo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tn
    Ratings:
    +0
    did U installed any battery mods or any other kind of mods if so u will have to sbf. that will be the fastest n safest way
     
  3. wildride89

    wildride89 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Va
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 for the increase in battery life. I actually took my d3 off craigslist. The update has worked wonders for my phone. Im hoping we get more dev attention due to clockwork and sbf files. Steel droid is out so that is reassuring.
    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  4. nu2droid

    nu2droid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    See avatar
    Ratings:
    +6
    Did you freeze any bloat or use Pete's script?
     
  5. pinback

    pinback Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope i didn't

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  6. pinback

    pinback Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted with easy root script v7. Not sure if that's Pete's script or not? I'm thinking I want to just unroot first. Do I need to download the latest v7 script to unroot? Or what?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  7. jonamurphy

    jonamurphy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    A couple of other small things I noticed about the update:

    The touchscreen keyboard keys are bigger when you unlock the phone. Makes it much easier to type the password quickly.
    The notification bar across the top is slightly different size.

    Since the runaway keyboard issue is fixed, it may be time to modify my signature.
     
  8. jpblock82

    jpblock82 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still no update for me :(

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  9. jpblock82

    jpblock82 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So my phone already says 5.6.890.. so I already am updated??? Yes or no??

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  10. spacecasespiff

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  11. mypalOtis

    mypalOtis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So- I have been hearing mixed things about whether the camera & camcorder issue has been resolved. Can someone further clarify for me if indeed those issues (blue tint/ slow shutter speed/color saturation/lack of color while recording) have truly been resolved. Also- was there an improvment in call quality? Those were my two major issues with the phone.


    Glad to hear the battery life has improved.


    Also- I had heard this mentioned before but has anyone had a problem with sliding the keyboard out and the paint underneath (around the edge) scraping off?
     
  12. darkmatter

    darkmatter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Has it been determined if the spacebar not registering some presses is hardware or software?

    I thought I saw someone say its software, but I'm still having the issue. And every now and then I get extra spaces, but its not the 500 spaces I used to get.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
can droid 3 be converted to 4g
,
can the droid 3 be converted to 4g
,

droid 3 software update

,
droid 3 software update download
,
droid 3 software upgrade
,
droid 3 update download
,
how to upgrade software for droid 3
,
motorola droid software update 2.3
,
update droid 3 os 2014 schedule
,
upgrade droid 3 to 4g