Droid 3 Radiocomm Hack Question

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by joefuf, Feb 28, 2012.

  1. joefuf
    Offline

    joefuf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    I did the radiocomm hack from XDA a while back and it has been working great on my phone. I am currently running Liberty 1.1, and have given thought to flashing a new ROM though. If I were to flash Liberty 3.0 or even change to CM, would the radiocomm hack carry over or would I need to redo the process? I guess what I am unsure of is whether or not the radio kernel(?) is part of a ROM or part of the SBF(?) or something. Has anyone had any experience with this?
  2. anthrpicdecadnce
    Offline

    anthrpicdecadnce New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did the hack back when i was running steel droid 2.0 on primary system. Now i'm running maverick rom 3.0 on safemode and i still have the hack. I tested it by letting my buddy play his ps vita tethered to my phone. Worked with no issues.
  3. joefuf
    Offline

    joefuf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    The hack disguises the phone's tethering activity as normal web data though, so without the extra data, plan you aren't being charged more. Are you sure that you aren't being charged for the extra activity?
  4. pastorgadget
    Offline

    pastorgadget New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    The radio hack is deep in the system, below the ROM level, so it should work with any custom ROM. However, it you download new system software from Verizon, it WILL eliminate the hack, because their system software is more than just the OS, it includes updates to the hardware interface--which is where the radio hack works.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  5. rvcjew
    Offline

    rvcjew New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA,CA
    unless their OTA has a baseband update it will not touch the radio. EDIT: as far as I know lol.
  6. kkemp
    Offline

    kkemp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could you plez help I can't find the instruction for this I got the radio com program just not the instructions

    Sent from my XT875 using DroidForums
  7. rvcjew
    Offline

    rvcjew New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA,CA
  8. anthrpicdecadnce
    Offline

    anthrpicdecadnce New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    looks complicated, but its actually very easy and quick to perform. just BE CAREFUL.
Search tags for this page

droid 3 radio hack

,

droid 3 radiocomm

,

droid 3 radiocomm hack

,
droid 3 radiocomm wifi booster hack
,
droid razr m radiocomm
,
motorola droid x2 radio comm
,
radio hack for droid 3
,

radiocomm

,
radiocomm does not detect
,
radiocomm droid 2 global
,

radiocomm droid 3

,

radiocomm hack

,
radiocomm hack droid razr m
,
radiocomm hack.
,
xt925 radiocomm hack at&t