1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Droid 3 OTA

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by negropy, Sep 13, 2011.

  1. negropy
    Offline

    negropy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've been rooting and Modding my droids since the OG Droid and did the same with my D3. I'm far from being a dev or expert so I have a question for those of you that know more than me. I read in the Motorola support forums a post by Matt saying that to get the upcoming OTA update you couldn't be rooted, let alone having frozen apps or according to him, even backup apps. Now, I thought it was not possible for the update file to recognize a rooted phone. I understand I'll have to defrost all the bloat most likely, but do you guys know if just because I'm rooted I won't get the OTA? I haven't used the leaked file, so I'm hopeful. If it is true, is there any way to unroot? Thanks guys!
  2. Mugen
    Offline

    Mugen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From what I've read, the new leaked OTA unroots your phone for you. But that's just what i've read. I'm trying to install the leaked OTA right now but not sure how lol. Not to thread jack but do i need an SD card ?
  3. BenLand150
    Offline

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Yes it unroots your phone, and yes you need an sdcard. The update.zip goes into it. Won't work on internal memory.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  4. negropy
    Offline

    negropy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I guess for clarification purposes I was talking about the real OTA, not the leaked one. Thanks for your answers!
  5. BenLand150
    Offline

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Oh, I gotcha. I don't believe anyone's gotten the real one yet, so who knows for sure.
  6. pistacio
    Offline

    pistacio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Of you want to keep root, just use Rootkeeper in the market. Works awesome. You can temporary unroot, then re root after you install the (leaked) OTA.

    The official OTA is unknown at this time... root status that is.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  7. Jerminator617
    Offline

    Jerminator617 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lumberton, TX
    I'm a newbie when it comes to manually installing updates. I downloaded the leaked update, and I have a SD card in my phone. After I put it on the card, what do I do to install it?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  8. pistacio
    Offline

    pistacio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Make sure all your bloat is back the way it was when the phone was shipped(if you rooted and messed with it). Power off, then power on holding x to boot into recovery. Hold volume up after your phone is booted into recovery, then tap volume down while holding vol up. This will give you a list of choices. Choose install, pick your update, and let it do its thing! All choices are picked by pressing the power button.

    ..no need to rename the file to "update.zip", and the file must be on the root of the sdcard(not in a folder).

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App<- the D3 is on the charger :(
  9. Jerminator617
    Offline

    Jerminator617 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lumberton, TX
    You have to have all of the bloatware? because at first i deleted a few apps totally, but after i did that to like 2 or 3 apps, i decided i should just change the extension incase i needed them... so since i dont have access to all of the apps i cant use this update? :frown:
  10. pistacio
    Offline

    pistacio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Yes, you need all the bloatware. I think the installation will abort if it is not all present. There is a list of the D3 apps around somewhere, or if you remember what you deleted, just find those apks and re install them.

    sent from my D1 while the D3 sleeps a little...
  11. Jerminator617
    Offline

    Jerminator617 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lumberton, TX
    So if I don't get all of the bloatware back, when the actual OTA update comes out, would it install? Or would it also need all of the bloatware?
  12. Jerminator617
    Offline

    Jerminator617 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lumberton, TX
    Ok well disregard my last post. I got the update to work. But now I have another problem. When I plug in my phone via USB to my computer, the computer makes the normal noise, but says it can't find the device, and my phone just says its charging, with no USB connection found. Anyone know what could be causing this?
  13. negropy
    Offline

    negropy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I signed up to be part of the soak test this week, that's why um concerned...
  14. BenLand150
    Offline

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Mine did the same thing. I looked all over the internet as to why it was doing it and for a bunch of fixes for it too.. Then I read somewhere that eventually if you're using a cord that isn't the one that came with the phone, it can eventually stop working. I was using my OG Droid's USB cable. When I switched back to my Droid 3 one, it started working again.
  15. Jerminator617
    Offline

    Jerminator617 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lumberton, TX
    wow gotta say thanks for that lol. went and got my cable that came with my D3 and it works... though i dont see what the difference is between cables. but whatever! as long as it works im happy
  16. BenLand150
    Offline

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Haha no problem. I was scared when that happened and no one's really posted about it. Luckily I found that tip and it worked. I don't see why it matters either.. and I'm curious as to why it stopped working just because of the OTA update.
  17. Jerminator617
    Offline

    Jerminator617 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lumberton, TX
    Well I'm glad that you had the same problem lol. At least maybe now when it happens to someone else, they will be able to figure out what to do.
  18. lalea878
    Offline

    lalea878 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know this sounds kinda stupid but new at this. I have a droid 3 with the key sticking problem on the physical keyboard..A and the spacebar/I heard a Leak would fix it but not even sure where to find these updates. I am also not on Verizon but on Page plus but have all functions including browser, GPS, Pic messages...working...just the keys sticking issue
    Help :)
    Laura
  19. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,762
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    sorry, software will not fix a sticking key.
Search tags for this page

tema bb time d3'i time ota