DROID 3 or Bionic?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by brooklyn2410, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63

    I see you havent been keeping up with current events...lol

    Its been unlocked for a few weeks now. Moto kept its word about the boot loader so far as far as the Atrix is concerned. Since it did with that, theres a good chance the Bionic and Droid 3 will be unlocked or unlockable too.
     
  2. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +19
    The reason I asked is cause my gf got it recently. She had the inspire but it gave her problems so I got att to upgrade her. That's why I asked
     
  3. sweeeeet

    sweeeeet Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8,579
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +65
    agreed .... u have to think about the next year...year and a half till you can upgrade again.... I absolutely will get a 4g phone since I live in nyc but if I was in any other state id do the same since vze is expanding lte so quickly

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. akhi216

    akhi216 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I plan on getting the D3 shortly after release for a number of reasons.

    -4G is not a problem for me, as I have a 4G LTE mobile hotspot and my city will be getting 4G LTE turn on July 21. If I need LTE, I can just turn on the hotspot. I also hear that cities that have 4G LTE turned on are getting faster 3G speeds thanks to the increased bandwidth.

    -I have to have a physical keyboard. Some people have no problem speed typing on a virtual keyboard but my thumbs and index finger begin to turn red after constantly tapping on glass. Also, when you are using a virtual keyboard in portrait mode, which I use like 50% of the time, the onscreen keyboard takes up like 90% of the screen leaving you no room the see auto-corrections, suggestions, etc., and if you move to another field using the onscreen keyboard you have no way of knowing what field that you'd be typing in unless you minimize the onscreen keyboard or switch to landscape, then you would have to tap on the field to get the onscreen keyboard to come up again. That's too much work for a text/forum/Facebook/email freak like myself.

    -The 512 MB of RAM shouldn't be a deal breaker seeing that the D3 is shipping with Gingerbread which does a good job on memory management. The D3 should get Ice Cream Sandwich, which will do a better job than Gingerbread on memory management, by March of next year.

    Edit:

    -Battery Life is important. The Droid 3 Should have decent battery life as compared to it's 4G LTE-enabled brother.
     
    #64 akhi216, Jul 6, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2011
  5. Maverick0984

    Maverick0984 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    This. I just don't understand why that doesn't get mentioned more. It's even worse in landscape, the keyboard is the whole darn screen.
     
  6. Vito.a

    Vito.a Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rosamond, CA
    Ratings:
    +13

    I always just buy a second battery for my phone. That way you don't need the bulging door.
    On eBay the standard batteries are usually under $10.
     
  7. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Are we sure a device with only 512 will get icecream sandwich? Droid didn't get gingerbread it only has 256.

    Sent from my fascinate
     
  8. Raptor007

    Raptor007 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nothing is certain, but, Google did emphasize the need for Mfg's and Carriers to keep the updates rolling for 18 months. Of course the caveat was where hardware supports it. Still I would expect a phone launching now to be able to run ICS with 512MB.
     
  9. akhi216

    akhi216 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    The og Droid X (among other phones) only has 512 MB of RAM and it has Gingerbread as we speak. It would be extremely foolish to release a phone that isn't upgradable within a year of launch.
     
  10. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    I can't imagine any phones with single core and 512 ram getting updated past gingerbread. Verizon has released plenty of those phones recently. But the fact that the Droid 3 has a dual core may be an indicator that it will get ICS. Hopefully ICS isn't full of memory intensive 3d interface crap.
     
  11. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    This is a valid point. But I just tried with Swype. It doesnt do that. Maybe the stock keyboard or other keyboards do that but Swype doesnt. Or maybe its cuz I have a 4.3" phone...

    The whole screen isnt the keyboard, but you cant see what you're replying to anymore in landscape. So I understand about landscape.
     
  12. Maverick0984

    Maverick0984 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    This is what I meant. The whole screen is the keyboard + typing area in landscape and is huge chunk in portrait. You no longer see the website/form/app you were originally typing in. The size of the screen or app has nothing to do with it.
     
    #72 Maverick0984, Jul 6, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2011
Search tags for this page

bionic or droid 3

,

droid bionic 3

,
is droid 3 like bonic
,
motorola 3 vs the bionci
,
should i get a droid 3 or droid bionic