Droid 3 AP Fastboot Failure

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by DrSinistar, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. DrSinistar
    Offline

    DrSinistar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, so I've never rooted a phone before. In an attempt to root my first phone and get the Steel Droid ROM, I think I soft bricked my phone. It now boots up with a "AP Fastboot Failure" message.

    I used RSD lite to flash something that the Steel Droid maker told me to. It will only get to step 17/18, and will then say that it failed. I know that I need to flash something else to fix that, but I have no idea how to flash it. I'd also still like to end up with my phone rooted.

    I have looked at the other thread talking about this, but I already tried moving the XML file around and it still didn't work. My D3 also makes a weird beeping noise when I'm not around.

    Please let me know if I missed anything. :)
  2. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Did you try standing on your head, holding your phone at a 248 degree angle while whistling the Oscar Meyer theme song? No? well..........

    :D

    go here

    follow the directions in the OP to Fastboot your phone (much easier/reliable than a SBF imo)

    once you're back up you'll be completely stock, go here and reroot using psouzas one click method

    once rooted, go here and install Safestrap. This will keep you from having to do all this again :biggrin:

    (Stealing this from guidot's guides in the hack thread)

    1. Make sure "allow 3rd party apps" is checked so you can sideload SafeStrap
    2. Find the apk in your download folder.
    3. Install the SafeStrap app.
    4. Open the app from your app drawer.
    5. Allow root access.
    6. Select 'Install Recovery.' This should take a moment; when it completes, 'Recovery State' should show 'Installed.'

    Now, you are ready to reboot into recovery.

    1. Power the phone off and power it on.
    2. You will come to a splash screen that states, 'press menu for recovery access.' You have 10 seconds, otherwise the phone boots normally.
    3. Once you press the menu softkey, it will boot into ClockworkMod Recovery

    To flash a ROM (I suggest MavROM):

    1. Make sure the ROM .zip file is on your SDcard
    2. Reboot and access recovery as above.
    3. Select Safe System
    4. Turn on Safe System (this should take a few minutes as it is copying the userdata to an unused partition)
    5. Power off and reboot into recovery
    6. Select mounts and storage
    7. Format /system
    8. Back to main menu
    9. Install zip from SDcard
    10. wipe data (in main menu)
    11. wipe cache (in main menu)
    12. Reboot (should take a good while to boot, up to 5 minutes)
  3. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    If you stumble along the way, let us know!


    BTW, If I remember correctly, some of the links don't work in the Fastboot post. If that's still the case, here is a link to my mirror of the files. This zip includes all the fastboot files you need, plus a folder with pete's root tools.

    Download here
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2012
  4. DrSinistar
    Offline

    DrSinistar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I watched the pot boil shortly after I posted this, and it successfully flashed the SBF. For some reason, when I walked away it would promptly fail. ;)

    So, now that I have that taken care of, where would I start rooting from in those steps?
  5. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    start at "once you're back up you'll be completely stock" :)
  6. DrSinistar
    Offline

    DrSinistar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks! I'll do that as soon as I can go home.

    Also, if I may, why do you suggest MavROM over Steel Droid? I looked at both and Steel Droid just looked so perty.

    *Edit: Oh. You helped make it. My bad! :p Does MavROM offer more than Steel Droid does?
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2012
  7. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Updated System files, about 10 different themes, a toolbox full of options, etc.

    and yeah, I help make it. lol
  8. DrSinistar
    Offline

    DrSinistar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Steel Droid was stupid and wouldn't install.

    *Sigh*

    ATM, MavROM is flashing. Should've listened in the first place. :p

    Edit 1: Well. Um. MavROM isn't booting. Blank screen.
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2012
  9. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Don't know. Lol. It is reversible, via sbf or fastboot. You'll be fine ;-)
  10. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Ok. When did it go blank? Did you get the Dual Core Moto Logo? Did you get the Android Boot Menu Screen (Safestrap)? If you got both of those, did the boot anination begin at all?
  11. DrSinistar
    Offline

    DrSinistar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry for not specifying. It boots up to the Dual Core Moto, then to the splash screen. After it goes to splash screen nothing happens. SafeStrap says that MavROM successfully installed. Could it be that I'm using SafeStrap v1.08?
  12. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    nope. dont think so. how long are you waiting? i think after the first initial install it took a couple of minutes before the boot animation started. -- have you tried pulling the battery and then booting?

    Also, when you get the boot menu screen, does it say safe system enabled at the top?
  13. DrSinistar
    Offline

    DrSinistar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After the install, I go back and click "reboot system." Yes, safe system is enabled. I've pulled the battery several times, to go back to the recovery. I think it took about 15 minutes of black screen for me to realize something was wrong. I went off and watched part of a movie before I came back. I'm going to try reinstalling the zip again. Does it matter what the zip is called?
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2012
  14. DrSinistar
    Offline

    DrSinistar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nevermind, I found my problem! I had the ROM on my external SD card, not my internal one. I'm using MavROM right now! Thank you so much, vbhokiefan! Love the ROM. :D
  15. DrSinistar
    Offline

    DrSinistar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, nevermind. I really suck with Rims still. I installed the ROM with like a 46% battery, and now it seems that I can't change the theme. I'm not a huge fan of the current one... so yeah. Help? :p
  16. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Well, you got MavROM up and running. Congrats.

    Now to install a different theme, just go to the MavROM Toolbox, select clear downloads (just to get rid of any temp stuff) and then go to themes tab. Find the one you want and choose install theme. It should download the theme, apply it and reboot. Once back up you should have the new theme. If you don't follow these steps again in a little bit, to make sure there wasn't a communication issue with the server.
  17. DrSinistar
    Offline

    DrSinistar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right again. Everything's splendid! Thank you so much for your help! :D

    Also, I'm trying to convince my friend to root his D3 and get MavROM, but he's quite paranoid about it. What else do you think I should say that would convince him that a rooted phone is better than a nonrooted?
  18. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Tell him to come over to the MavROM threads and see all the wonderful development and goodies that's going on ;-)
  19. DrSinistar
    Offline

    DrSinistar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    He decided to get Hashcode's CM9 mod. I tried it out, but I'm just lucky enough to stumble across ALL of it's problems. :p

    Any who, in the main screenshot for MavROM 3.5, there the launcher bar is like that of ICS. How do I get that? It's not the Launcher2 in the Toolbox, it's not in the ICS theme, and I don't want to download the Go Launcher. Is there another way, or do I have to do it that way?
Search tags for this page
ap fastboot recovery how to select all softkeys
,

boot menu droid 3

,
cwm recovery droid3 fastboot
,
droid 3 fastboot argentina personal
,
droid 3 fastboot mode
,
droid 3 has black screen and says ap fastboot
,
droid 3 keeps ap booting
,
droid 3 recovery fastboot
,

droid3 steel droid flash failure

,
how to fix the ap fastboot flash files for droid 3
,

how to solw ap flash mode droid 3

,
staetup boot menu droid x3