Droid 3 and the ice cream sandwich

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by PriscilaLila, Oct 5, 2011.

  1. PriscilaLila
    Offline

    PriscilaLila New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will the motorola droid 3 be updated to the ice cream sandwich os? My droid 3 runs on gingerbread 2.3.4 i'm hoping for update to the ice cream sandwich.
  2. Fr33dom
    Offline

    Fr33dom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. NoBloatware
    Offline

    NoBloatware New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My D3 is working so well I'm kind of afraid to get an update.
  4. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    We still don't know what ICS hw requirements will be in terms of RAM specifically. If 512MB isn't enough, D3 will be left out in the dark...

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
  5. DELUXDroid
    Offline

    DELUXDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm sure the d3 will get it sooner or later.
  6. RobbieMan
    Offline

    RobbieMan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im sure we will get ICS in a ROM b4 we get a ota update.
  7. PriscilaLila
    Offline

    PriscilaLila New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My droid is great, but im sure that with the ice cream sandwich it will be even better. Hope they dont keep us waiting too long for the update. :D
  8. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Let's hope it will take less than it took to bring Gingerbread to Droid2... if ever happens.
  9. Fr33dom
    Offline

    Fr33dom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From prior experience, it will seem like it takes forever.
  10. spillner
    Offline

    spillner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY
    I can't believe that 512mg of ram isn't gonna be enough.
  11. Fr33dom
    Offline

    Fr33dom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nobody knows for sure, but I doubt thats a real issue considering all of the current generation of Sony Ericsson Xperia models including the Xperia arc and the Xperia ray will be updated. Both are 512k devices.
  12. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Knowing motorola....it could take quite a long time. Gingerbread was released in early december. Droid 2 got it in august/september. It took motorola 8-9 months. At that rate, we can expect ics on the droid 3 between the months of may and august of 2012. Assuming motorola decides to upgrade it to ics.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  13. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,067
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    There's no real reason the D3 wouldn't get ICS. I think the delay on getting GB was due to some other issues. But with Google aquiring Moto it'll speed up the update process.

    LLR00717
  14. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It very much depends what shell is installed atop android. HTC sense for example struggles with 768MB on Gingerbread, they even refused to update Desire Z due to lack of enough memory to run Sense properly. Motorola's shell (BLUR) is not as heavy, but not as light as Sony's. D3 already struggles for RAM on Gingerbread. Those "screen reloads" people are complaining are direct result from RAM hunger.
    We'll see, I guess.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
  15. nutpn
    Offline

    nutpn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So the internal drive is just that a internal drive and so not connected to a way to partition to create more ram,right
  16. skruid
    Offline

    skruid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The ram shouldn't be an issue, ics is suppose to be able to run on all android devices, I bet the d1 gets it as a custom rom

    Sent from my DROID using DroidForums
  17. flatty
    Offline

    flatty New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree, my d1 is running 2.3.7 flawlessly on cm nightly as well as ics music and market 3.1.5

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  18. lastname_firstname
    Offline

    lastname_firstname New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    seattle
    Where did u find ics music? Is it better than GBs music app?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  19. flatty
    Offline

    flatty New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's here on forums. It's music beta refined but ics and working.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  20. lastname_firstname
    Offline

    lastname_firstname New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    seattle
    I'm using music beta on gb w/ ota update 890 and its rediculous. Its basically the same app as the stock music without the lock controls, it doesn't update with newly added music ethier, only the songs I have on my sim card. The only way I can get to my tracks is throug dolphin actually visiting the music beta website...something wrong with this picture?
Search tags for this page
can droid3 get ice cream sandwich?
,
can i put ice cream sandwich on droid 3
,

droid 3 ice cream sandwich

,
droid 3 update ice cream sandwich
,
how to get ice cream sanwich on droud 3
,
ice cream sandwhich for droid 3
,
ice cream sandwich on droid 3
,
icecream sandwich for droid 3
,
motorola droid 3 no ice cream sandwich