Droid 3 and easy tether

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by buckmarble, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Has anyone used easy tether with the d3?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  2. aggiechase37
    Offline

    aggiechase37 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I got it from the Amazon market for 5 bucks and it works great.
  3. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I use it on a daily basis on my d1. I have a d3 coming on tues....... no changes in your bill?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  4. pistacio
    Offline

    pistacio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    I would like some info on this also, looking for an alternative after the rooted D1 is swapped for the D3 Tuesday.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. reaper keeper
    Offline

    reaper keeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alamogordo NM
    I have used it on my D3 and it works fine. I have the full retail version, not the free one. The free one will work except for https connections.
  6. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    Yeeeeaaaaa buckmarble! Welcome to the D3 Community bro.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  7. BenLand150
    Offline

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,783
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Yep, it works great!
  8. Tillyswilly
    Offline

    Tillyswilly New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bham
    +1 here to use it all the time just about on my comp
  9. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Hahahahaha, I knew you'd pop up somewhere! You should check out my porting work for DC if you still have your d1.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  10. mccoyd
    Offline

    mccoyd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid 3 and tethering to tablet

    I have a D3, not rooted, and a Samsung galaxy tab 10.1, also not rooted, will the Easy Tether work with the tablet? And no extra charges from Verizon? hope so. Thanks!
  11. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    You know it!! && yeah i still have hands on my D1.. What have you been porting? Send me a link! Ill check it out
  12. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    Hey Buck, it says your inbox is full! Can't send you the PM unless you delete some of that spam.. lol.. jk
  13. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ok ok ok. Yeah ill do some cleaning!

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  14. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Alright. Its all cleaned out

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  15. moop45
    Offline

    moop45 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried the built in tether app for the D3 and my browser pops up with a verizon page wanting me to pay monthly for service. Is there a free way to do this or is feeding verizon another 20 bucks a month the only way?
  16. pistacio
    Offline

    pistacio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Just got easy tether working with my D3, had to install some drivers on my PC. This makes my itch for root go away for a little while.

    If anyone has trouble connecting, the easy tether website FAQ has a link to motorola's website for the drivers. Also, make sure USB is in mass storage mode, and debugging enabled.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums App
  17. pistacio
    Offline

    pistacio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Easy tether is $9.99, one time fee.


    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums App
  18. aramos87
    Offline

    aramos87 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will easy tether work for tethering my Xoom to my D3??

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
  19. digipoo
    Offline

    digipoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I might be wrong about this but using easy tether requires a USB cable. So for the Xoom you need a micro to micro USB cable as the Xoom does not have a full-size USB port. PDANet has bluetooth tether capabilities if I am not mistaken.
  20. aramos87
    Offline

    aramos87 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok cool thanks, I'll give that a try.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
can you teather with a droid 3 phone?
,
carrier page pops up when i use eady tether
,
casio g'zone commando easytether on mac
,

droid 3 easy tether

,

easytether on droid 3

,
samsung galaxy tab 2 10.1 easytether
,
tether d3 to galaxy tab 10.1
,
verizon, droid 3 tethering