Droid 2 wifi not working

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by thisiswang, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. thisiswang

    thisiswang Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I connected my Droid 2 to wifi in my house. i have a strong signal but i can't do anything using wifi, it doesn't really work. I read somewhere that it could be an issue with wireless-n. anyone have any input?
     
  2. cromo8

    cromo8 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    try resetting your wifi at home and try to connect again

    wifi seems to work great
     
  3. bobby_v

    bobby_v Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've run into this quite a bit over the last couple of days. I think it's a because of my sucky Netgear router. A router reboot usually fixes things.
     
  4. thisiswang

    thisiswang Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    change your wireless settings to tkip instead of aes
     
  5. sorapp

    sorapp New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know if the Droid 2 can use WiFi-n. My router can handle all WiFi protocols but I can only get "G" to work with the Droid 2. This is not a real problem for me because that is still faster than my internet connection.

    Also I am using AES successfully on mine.
     
  6. Masx

    Masx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone else having this issue? I also get inconsistent wifi connections and this seems pretty major to me and is actually quite annoying and frustrating how it hasn't been fixed yet.

    I don't see why people work around the issue by downgrading their router settings and say all is fine. I know my droid 1 had ZERO issues with wifi till I upgraded to a droid 2.

    Any fixes/patches coming out soon from motorola/verizon?
     
  7. jim6172

    jim6172 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any fixes/patches coming out soon from motorola/verizon?[/QUOTE]

    we can only hope took mine to verizon yesterday and they have no idea how to fix (go figure)
    jim:icon_eek:
     
  8. Masx

    Masx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    From what I'm hearing people are just ignoring the issue/working around it instead of reporting it. Which is why Moto/VZW aren't doing much about it.

    The tech support supervisor from Moto acknowledge my issue and also agrees that lowering security settings etc. shouldn't have to be done and he even confirmed one more bug with me.... Peer to Peer (Ad-Hoc) setting force closing everytime.

    He is reporting to level 3 tech support engineers and seeing what they can do for future patches but he obviously had no ETA.

    More people need to report this issue instead of trying to work around it....
     
  9. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Although I lose connection occasionally, overall since installing 2.2 in my D1 and getting my D2 the connections seems to be more consistent.

    2.2 update had improved drivers for the Droid. Nothing else is available and probably won't be until we see Gingerbread.
     
  10. DrFeelgood

    DrFeelgood Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Change the router channel from 1 to anything else. I've found that my PS3 can't connect to my router when it's on channel 1, but I've never tried with my Droid 2 so I'm not sure.
     
  11. Redflea

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    I had a router that would connect to my D1 and D2 perfectly, but after about five minutes all data transfer would stop, even though it showed a strong connection.

    Wasn't able to figure it out, tried all kinds of things on the router and on the phone, channels, security, etc.

    Finally got out an old Netgear N router, installed DD-WRT FW on it and it connects and everything works.

    Moral of the story? No freakin' idea, just happy things work now and it didn't cost me any $.
     
  12. mwyatt

    mwyatt New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    How, pray tell, do you do that? I have zero options to change those settings on my Droid 2.
     
Search tags for this page
droid 2 global wifi not working
,
droid 2 not connecting to wifi
,
droid 2 not connecting to wireless
,

droid 2 wifi not working

,
incredible 2 wifi not working
,
the wifi wont work on my droid 2
,
wifi not working droid 2
,

wifi not working on droid 2

,
wifi on droid 2 not working
,
wifi stopped wworking on droid 2