Droid 2 went loco

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by silverfang77, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. silverfang77

    silverfang77 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +69
    I had just finished adding movies to my watched list in my IMDB.com app. I then exited, which involved pressing the back button several times because I had added so many movies. After this, I checked my email, read that and exited. It was then I noticed that my wallpaper had been removed and replaced by the gray one with the ones and zeros. I went into my gallery and reset the wallpaper. I then opened my phone's keyboard to reorient to landscape mode and as soon as I did this, my wallpaper disappeared yet again.

    I touched the gallery yet again and then all hell broke loose. The dialer came up, then the phone's native browser. I backed out of those and they immediately launched again on their own. Finally, I had to reboot.

    What could possibly cause such crazy behavior from a normally mild mannered phone?
     
  2. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,958
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Have you rebooted? If that doesn't help, I'd look at a Factory Hard Reset next.
     
  3. silverfang77

    silverfang77 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +69
    I mentioned that I rebooted in my first post. So far, it seems OK. Is there any way to find out the cause? I would rather deal with it by surgically removing the cause as opposed to striking the whole thing with the mallet of the factory reset.
     
  4. chrstdvd

    chrstdvd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    McKenney Va
    Ratings:
    +0
    If resetting/rebooting fixed the problems, I would just think, like any computer, the ones and zero's got out of whack. Ya have to totally turn the phone off sometimes to reload things fresh into memory upon reboot.
     
  5. silverfang77

    silverfang77 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +69
    I know that. What bothers me is it's never done anything like that before.