Droid 2 - Quicker Way to Deploy Camera?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Smokeyham, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. Smokeyham

    Smokeyham Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    In order to get my camera ready to shoot on my Droid 2 I have to do the following steps:

    1) Hit power button to turn on screen
    2) Swipe Lock button
    3) Enter Security Code (my workplace requires a security code be used if I am going to access workplace Microsoft Exchange)
    4) Press and hold camera button
    5) Camera is now ready to be used.

    The process is quite slow.

    In addition, and this just might be user error, it seems that sometimes the camera does not become available until after I have held and released, the camera button. Other times it is available immediately when I touch the button.

    Any thoughts on how I might speed this process up, or anything I might be doing wrong or missing?

    Thanks!
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Moved to the Droid 2 general discussion section
     
  3. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    I would think all those steps would be an absolute necessity based on your setup.

    if you have a lock code, it would make sense that you would not be able to use your phone or parts of your phone without entering it.

    i don't think there's a workaround given your setup
     
  4. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    You could try putting a link on the home screen to the camera, or if you're running ADW/LP you could put a link to it in the dock. Might shave a second or two off the overall accessing.
     
  5. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    ah very true, didn't even think of that. this would most probably be your best bet.
     
  6. Smokeyham

    Smokeyham Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks.... I did notice that this was a lot easier/quicker before our IT guy set me up so I could access my work e-mail.
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    :welcome: to the forum, by the way. :)
     
  8. Smokeyham

    Smokeyham Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Camera Link on Home Screen Speeds Up Access

    Thanks.... That definitely helps! I find that a lot easier to use than trying to activate the camera via the little button on top.
     
  9. Smokeyham

    Smokeyham Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks!

    Thanks! I've already learned a lot just from searching through the posts, and it's amazing how many Google searches for things-Droid bring you to this forum.
     
  10. Nods_Dad

    Nods_Dad Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You might want to look at WidgetLocker....it let's you put widgets and shortcuts on your lock screen.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  11. Smokeyham

    Smokeyham Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    WidgettLocker

    Thanks.... I'll look into that! :)